Red Queen

Red Queen 6

by Victoria Aveyard

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 10/02/2015

4/5 Rating 6 Reviews Add your review
$19.99

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.

This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .

ISBN:
9781409155843
Category:
General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
10-02-2015
Publisher:
Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
235x157x32mm
Weight:
0.52kg
Victoria Aveyard

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California.

She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4 / 5 (6 Ratings)
5 stars (3)
4 stars (0)
3 stars (3)
2 stars (0)
1 stars (0)
  • Team Red.

    by on

    A dystopian reality mixed with X-men. What more could you want?

    Without completely 'fan-girling' and giving away spoilers this book is amazing! It is completely engrossing, full of mystery, intrigue and will keep you wanting more with the many unexpected twists.

    This highly anticipated debut is perfect for anyone who likes Kiera Cass and Marissa Meyer. I can't wait for the next book!

  • If you love great world building, give this debut series a go!

    by on

    This must be one of the most hyped up books for early 2015. An over-hyped dystopian book is something I cannot stand, but instead of being disappointed I found myself captivated by this book from the beginning.

    The concept of the book was intriguing. Status is determined by blood. Reds are commoners living in poverty-stricken communities, enslaved by a Silver elite in possession of magical abilities. Mare Barrow is a Red. She lives in the Stilts with her parents, stealing what she can from her community to survive. When a chance encounter brings her before the Silver court, she discovers that she possesses an ability of her own. With the help of a rebellion group, Mare discovers that she could be the hope for a better future and fight back against the Silvers.

    While the premise was fascinating, although issues arose as I read further into the story. While there was never a dull moment thanks to the action, I found the story very predictable. For me it followed the same road as too many other YA dystopian/fantasy novels that I’ve read, and I wasn’t overly shocked by anything that was revealed.

    I also lacked connection to the characters. Mainly with Cal and Maven, who I assume you were supposed to feel something towards as they were a part of the super confusing love triangle that appeared out of nowhere. I didn’t understand the romance in this book at all. It was so irrelevant from the overall plot. Every time a relationship developed, it was considered irrelevant in the next chapter and Mare went on as though it never happened. Friendships would have sufficed in this book. But then again, I suppose you can’t sell Young Adult literature without romance nowadays..

    What I did thoroughly enjoy in this book however was the world building. There were still points where I would have loved more development, but as a first book in a series I thought Aveyard did an amazing job of introducing us to this super complex society. What I would have loved however was a map of the world! That would have been a great added addition.

    I also have to comment on the superpowers in this book. For me they were definitely the funnest and most interesting component of the entire novel! They had all X-Men types of abilities, but instead of being mutants like in the comics they were the elite. Some of the abilities included: manipulating the elements, reading and controlling someone’s mind and healing. I was wholeheartedly excited to continue reading every time the abilities were mentioned!

    Overall, I found this a really enjoyable read and a well-done debut. I am fascinated to know where the story goes. And I really hope we see more of the world in the second instalment.

  • Recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Shadow and Bone, Throne of Glass, etc.

    by on

    Personally I didn't particularly enjoy this book as much as a lot of other readers did, but I do understand the appeal. It has an interesting premise and elements from a lot of well-received Young Adult series. It's like fantasy meets dystopian with romance. I think that readers who enjoyed these books - I listed the main ones above - should enjoy Red Queen!

View more reviews for Red Queen