Reviews by Rose

  • A Place to call Home?

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    The back of the book recommends this for lovers of Downton Abbey. I wouldn't know, I've never seen it but if you like stories about people and the place they call home, then give this one a go.



    Essentially each chapter is its own story, a snapshot of a different time from the house's beginning in the late 1700s right up to 2010. In that time she changes hands several times as fashions and fortunes rise and fall. Old money, new money, no money, the old girl has seen it all. If only the walls could talk.

Format:

Publication Date: 28/06/2012

$29.95
  • They call it statecraft for a reason

    by Rose on 17/06/2014

    In Hard Choices Hillary Clinton reflects on her time as Secretary of State and how difficult it is to get the balance right between big picture blue sky thinking for a better world and everyday reality for the billions on the planet.

    Ordinary folk like us might say about our leaders things like, 'they oughta do something about that', 'what were they thinking?' and 'why don't they just..?'. When the planet and world peace is at stake, it seems its not that simple most of the time. But sometimes it is.

    While the focus is politics there is also warmth, passion, vision, homespun wisdom and humour - like the description of the 'world's weirdest taxi queue' in Copenhagen in 2009.

    Followers of world affairs will appreciate the insights the former First Lady gives into what's been going on behind the scenes of key world events in the last 10 years and anyone who has tried to negotiate anything in a committee or group setting will see similarities to their own experiences, especially if the negotiations have been long and tedious, massive compromise has been involved and not everyone wants to play by the same rules.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 10/06/2014

33%
OFF
RRP  $49.99 $33.45
  • The sea and its secrets

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    For the light keeper who likes the solitude and his young wife who struggles with the loneliness, the arrival of a small baby in the arms of a deadman in a boat presents a dilemma.



    The isolation and the hardships of life on an offshore light are beautifully captured here, its clear the author has put a lot of research in! I was hooked within a couple of paragraphs and with the characters all the way.

Format:

Publication Date: 20/03/2012

$32.95
  • These Kids Want To Get Inside Your Head

    by Rose on 06/09/2013

    A secret(ish) government program, a serial killer who is "escalating" and a house full of teenagers with natural talents in spotting lies, unusual behaviour patterns and otherwise well hidden secrets. Getting involved in a love triangle is the least of Cassie's problems. I was promised it would keep me guessing right until the end ... and it did!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/11/2013

26%
OFF
RRP  $16.99 $12.41
  • Bye, Bye Baby

    by Rose on 08/10/2012

    In 1951 unwed teen mother Miki is forced to give up her baby boy for adoption. Twenty years later Australia's presence in Vietnam is a hot topic and Miki is an anti-war protester, her son is all grown up and of the right age to have his number come up in the Birthday Lottery being used to draft soldiers.



    I thought this book was a little slow to get started but once it did it brilliantly captured the tensions of the time and painted a painful but touching snapshot of the personal stories for each of the characters.



    I was unprepared for the ending but luckily I had a haanky to hand! I could have lived without the epilogue but that too had its place in showing how sometimes the times and people change and sometimes everything stays the same.



    As a ficionalised account studying recent but rarely explored Australian history, this book is worth a look.

Format:

Publication Date: 01/09/2012

$29.99
  • Frozen Fairytales.

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Sometimes, just sometimes, fairy-tales come true. And sometimes they don't.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 04/10/2012

13%
OFF
RRP  $16.99 $14.69
  • Extinct? Or Not?

    by Rose on 12/09/2012

    This is a real babes in the woods story. After Hannah and her friend are lost in the wilds of the Tasmanian forest they are adopted by a pair of thylacines who never forget their "pups" even after they find their way back to "civilisation".



    Its sad and scary and happy adventure all at once as the girls adjust to their changing circumstances and learn who the real monsters are. I've always loved Thylacines and I hold out hope that they are still out there somewhere!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 20/11/2015

17%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $16.50
  • 'You look like a brussels sprout!".

    by Rose on 06/07/2015

    'You look like a brussels sprout!". So said Johnny Rotten's dad right before kicking him out of the house.

    I was born around the same time as punk so knew nothing of it and as a kid was only vaguely aware of the Sex Pistols, PiL and other such noisemakers. So now, here I am, arriving late (as usual) to the party and I feel like I am discovering music all over again!

    Anger is an Energy is John Lydon (a.k.a Johnny Rotten's) second autobiography, Rotten: No Irish, No Blacks, No Dogs, being the first. Having read both I have come to the conclusion that Mr Lydon is a bit of a nutter, but a delightful witty one with a genuine interest in other people and the way the world works (or doesn't work). Its too bad that there aren't more like him in the world brave enough to add colour, noise and energy in all sorts of glorious 'thrilling' ways.

    Twenty years on from 'Rotten', in this book John looks back at his life (again) with relentless honesty and also perhaps a little more wisdom and maturity than the first time around. He may come across in parts as a bit arrogant and slightly paranoid but, so what? His kind of infamy does that I suppose.

    Misadventures with 'the Johns' and Vivienne Westwood bondage pants were among the things which had me chuckling. At the other end of the scale there is his utter contempt for Malcolm, the shitstem, Malcolm, silly fake people in general, education standards and oh of course, Malcolm. Then there's the drugs, Shakespeare, disco, religion, police raids, aborted tours, Japan, endless frustrations with band members and the music 'industry', his love for Nora and the life they have built together and the pain of losing his parents and Sid.

    Punk isn't dead and John Lydon hasn't sold his soul for butter or bugs. This is a man who is just out there, unique and true to himself and what he believes. If you ever get the feeling you've been cheated, John's story might help you see things differently with his distinctive voice and refreshing attitude. It may even inspire you to make a bit of noise of your own. Brussels sprout optional.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/06/2015

17%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $16.50
  • Good dog, great life lessons

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Looking for something to do now that her daughter has grown, Sue Halpern and Pransky - the dog with too much energy and excess love to give - become a therapy team at their nearby nursing home.

    With Pransky as teacher and guide, Sue gets to know the residents and their stories and explores what is important in life - apart from the occasional dog biscuit. Beautifully written, great dog.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 23/04/2014

21%
OFF
RRP  $27.99 $21.90
  • Voices past and present

    by Rose on 04/10/2012

    This is two stories for the price of one!



    First we have the story of Hugh, a young man wanting to be a commercial artist and forming a relationship with his estranged great uncle Walter. Then we have the story of outlaw Lucas some 100 years or so before Hugh's story. The connection? The bushranger once visited the farm where Walter now lives and has been a lifelong obsession of his.



    3 stars because it was as well written as you'd expect from this author and beautifully crafted. I think both stories were great on their own and didn't really need each other to be valid - but maybe I missed the point of the dual storyline?




Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/10/2012

17%
OFF
RRP  $32.99 $27.22
  • Its a jungle out there

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    This is the story of one very long day in the life of Stephen, a man whose life appears to be going nowhere.



    To most of the people he encounters in this one day he is a pathetic loser and I must admit I was wondering why I was turning page after page following him from one disappointing and depressing experience to another. Then before I knew it, I was crying on the tram with the ending.



    Stephen may be a bit messed up, but he's a decent sort and probably the only sane animal in the book!

Format:

Publication Date: 07/09/2011

$29.99
  • This book is a hoot!

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    I've always loved animal stories but not being much of a bird person, I didn't expect to love this book as much as I did!



    Wesley is such a character and the relationship he has with Stacey is really something special.



    A little bit sad but so sweet and funny this book has gone straight into the 'keepers' pile.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/07/2009

11%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $17.65
  • An extraordinary ordinary kid

    by Rose on 04/02/2012

    Auggie is gorgeous! You won't be sorry if you take the time to get to know him.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 14/02/2012

$21.95
  • I didn't think of eyebrows!

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Go on, admit it, you had imaginary friends didn't you? Did you remember the eyebrows and whether they had wings, or could open doors, or had special powers?



    Max thought of everything for his special friend Budo and Max is Budo's world. This story is about two mates and its pretty special, even when it gets scary because thats when real friends will come through, even if they are imaginary.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 08/01/2013

14%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $17.11
  • Peculiar Magyk

    by Rose on 11/10/2012

    Time and place: Alternative dimension England where steampower, clockwork, magic, magical creatures and humans share an uneasy existence.



    Cut off from their own world, most of the Fay live in squalor and are treated in equal measure with of loathing and fascination by humans. And now changeling children (half faery half human)are disappearing.



    The author is young and he has quite an imagination. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/10/2012

14%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $17.11
  • Amo Amas Amat

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    I've wanted this for a long time. Its not a language which will help with buying a bus ticket but sometimes its just about keeping the mind active.

Format: Mixed media product

Publication Date: 08/04/2014

12%
OFF
RRP  $75.00 $65.45
  • In the dark, dark woods....

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    In the dark, dark woods there is an old abandoned lodge, a reclusive young woman, her wannabe boyfriend, two little kids, a horse, two dads and 'good ole boys' with guns.



    Chock full of dysfunctional backwoods people, old indian legends, the best and worst of humans and nature, this is a strange story, part romance, mostly thriller and a page turner.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 27/09/2011

$32.99
  • Bare

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    So the basic premise of this story is girl meets boy and they have sex, sex and more sex.



    Our larger-than-life (in more ways than one) studmuffin is Gideon and it is immediately obvious that he is overbearing, obnoxious and a possessive control freak. Maybe they aren't qualities every woman dreams of in a life partner but Eva seems to like him. Gideon is also outrageously handsome, owns half of New York and despite having all these gorgeous women (plus a few men) fainting at his feet, is a traumatised soul in need of saving and a bit of a dud when it comes to meaningful relationships.



    Enter Eva (and he does... often). She herself is also damaged from events in her past, unlucky in love and she soon becomes overwhelmed by Gideons "charms". But boy oh boy does she like it.



    Its all slightly ludicrous but is erotic fiction after all and if they weren't at it hammer and tongs every 2 or 3 pages there would be something wrong.



    To my surprise in between all the sticky, sweaty bits there is a plot but in all honesty I would have found this a much sexier story if the two of them had kept their pants on a bit more and attempted to build a healthy relationship by overcoming their traumatic pasts. Maybe that isn't really in the spirit of things. Or maybe its coming in book 2 .. ah... ah...

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 06/07/2012

20%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $15.97
  • The cover's right, there are no innocents

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    All Michael wants is to start a new life and a family with his girlfriend Elena. But retirement is not going to be so easy when the son of his former boss has 67 million reasons why Michael must stay within the business ... or die (preferably die).



    As the bodies start piling up all around him, Michael's past comes back to bite and he eventually returns to where it all started ... Iron House.



    I'm not much of an action/adventure sort of reader but this book was the perfect anecdote to a boring commute and a cold, rainy Saturday. I would definitely read more by John Hart.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 28/06/2011

$24.99
  • Finbar gets to the heart of what matters.

    by Rose on 30/11/2012

    Its serious business trying to sell poo bags for babies to the public. No, really. Big business. Multi-million dollar business involving expensive hotels, first class travel, hollywood magic and hundreds of babies. Its more important than taking that holiday, falling in love, rediscovering your family or doing just one nice thing for the father who you haven't seen for 20 something years. Or is it?



    Every bit as 'hilarious', 'poignant', 'sardonic' and 'moving' as it says on the box. And that is the truth.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 01/08/2013

$32.99
  • Behind the Walls

    by Rose on 13/09/2012

    I started reading this because my sister is a Sister and because it was inspired by real (but not always happy) stories from women who lived and worked within the walls of the Abbotsford convent which is practically in my backyard.



    It wasn't long before I was drawn into the lives of these 4 women and those that share their lives - including the convent itself which is a grand old lady and well worth a visit, even if you are not particularly religious.



    People are lost, people are found and there's life, death, falls and redemption. WARNING: Do not read on public transport if you're prone to displays of emotion.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/10/2012

15%
OFF
RRP  $22.99 $19.54
  • A Perfect Storm

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    4 brothers plus 1 mystery guy and a girl. And a long lost dad with a secret assignment. And some bullies. And superpowers. Fantastic!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/05/2012

15%
OFF
RRP  $14.99 $12.70
  • Long live the King.

    by Rose on 22/11/2011

    His father tried to warn him. How becoming king would twist his mind and his morals.



    But he didn't listen. He was young and ambitious and convinced of his divinity.



    As a boy Hal heard a prophecy and convinced himself he would be king despite being the 'spare heir'. Then the prophecy comes true and suddenly Henry has everything he ever dreamed of, apart from sons to pass on the empire to... and France.



    Political alliances form, fail and reform, a succession of wives and mistresses repeatedly fail to produce the longed for sons and bit by bit the idealistic and well intentioned young man is buried beneath his own failures, disappointments, ill health and increasing madness.



    The King is dead. But the legend lives on.



    One of the best books I've read in 2011 and sent me back to the history books to read some more about Tudor times!

Format:

Publication Date: 08/11/2011

$17.95
  • Clementine's story is Divine

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    At the start Clementine is not divine - she is kind of a pain in the rear and I feared it was another story about a self absorbed teen. But then it got good.



    Anyone who's had a relative with mental health issues will understand a bit of what Clem's family has gone through and the growing up Clem must do to understand the truth about Stella and herself.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/05/2012

14%
OFF
RRP  $18.99 $16.31
  • Stunning!

    by Rose on 20/08/2013

    Suspenseful.

    Sweet.

    Sexy.

    Sensational.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 20/08/2013

17%
OFF
RRP  $18.99 $15.66
  • Winter Magic

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Blake certainly is 'otherkind' but then again, so is Winter. And something IS coming - apart from a clowder of cats.



    Read it in an afternoon. Looking forward to finding out what happens next.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/06/2011

$19.99
  • One more Wild ride

    by Rose on 24/02/2015

    Another fantastic instalment in this series. Can't rave about it though without giving anything away!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/03/2015

17%
OFF
RRP  $18.99 $15.66
  • You Look Like a Brussels Sprout

    by Rose on 18/07/2015

    'You look like a brussels sprout!". So said Johnny Rotten's dad right before kicking him out of the house.

    I was born around the same time as punk so knew nothing of it and as a kid was only vaguely aware of the Sex Pistols, PiL and other such noisemakers. So now, here I am, arriving late (as usual) to the party and I feel like I am discovering music all over again!

    Anger is an Energy is John Lydon (a.k.a Johnny Rotten's) second autobiography, Rotten: No Irish, No Blacks, No Dogs, being the first. Having read both I have come to the conclusion that Mr Lydon is a bit of a nutter, but a delightful witty one with a genuine interest in other people and the way the world works (or doesn't work). Its too bad that there aren't more like him in the world brave enough to add colour, noise and energy in all sorts of glorious 'thrilling' ways.

    Twenty years on from 'Rotten', in this book John looks back at his life (again) with relentless honesty and also perhaps a little more wisdom and maturity than the first time around. He may come across in parts as a bit arrogant and slightly paranoid but, so what? His kind of infamy does that I suppose.

    Misadventures with 'the Johns' and Vivienne Westwood bondage pants were among the things which had me chuckling. At the other end of the scale there is his utter contempt for Malcolm, the shitstem, Malcolm, silly fake people in general, education standards and oh of course, Malcolm. Then there's the drugs, Shakespeare, disco, religion, police raids, aborted tours, Japan, endless frustrations with band members and the music 'industry', his love for Nora and the life they have built together and the pain of losing his parents and Sid.

    Punk isn't dead and John Lydon hasn't sold his soul for butter or bugs. This is a man who is just out there, unique and true to himself and what he believes. If you ever get the feeling you've been cheated, John's story might help you see things differently with his distinctive voice and refreshing attitude. It may even inspire you to make a bit of noise of your own. Brussels sprout optional.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/10/2014

$29.99
  • Two Heads Better Than One?

    by Rose on 01/07/2013

    They say two heads are better than one but when eleven year old Richard sprouts an extra head no-ones quite sure, but plenty are interested including a rapidly diminishing circle of friends (thanks to Ricki), bewildered parents (also thanks to Ricki) and doctors galore. Ricki is nothing like Richard and their battle for control over the shared body is sometimes funny, sometimes downright scary and a lot like that awkward time between childhood and adolescence. A twist at the end may leave you scratching your head (or both if you also have two) and rethinking what you thought you knew about this story.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 03/06/2013

$21.99
  • I want to meet her Moles!

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Falling in love with Edgar all over again.

Format: DVD video

Publication Date: 09/06/2010

  $12.95
  • A Pearl

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    At first this book seemed to me to be a random but well researched collection of snippets of people's war stories held together by Poppy's experiences. Then the bombing of Darwin and other parts of northern Australia happens, subs appear in Sydney harbour, Poppy's gentle Japanese friends are 'the enemy' and interred in a POW camp and suddenly a far away war becomes very real. I learnt a few things that I didn't know before.



    Great read for kids learning about WW2 and a starting point for finding out more about what life was like in Australia at the time.

Format:

Publication Date: 01/06/2012

$15.99
  • Choose...

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    The author spent a lot of time setting up the story - which meant that at times it seemed to get a bit bogged down - but apart from that the concept is great and the story improved as it went on.



    Terrified of war created by people being unpredictable, Tris' world has divided into 5 different factions where certain personality traits are desired and those who do not conform or fail the faction tests do not belong. Imagine if you could only choose one place to belong - would you be fearless (Dauntless), selfless (Abnegation), smart (Erudite), happy (Amity) or Candor (truthful)? Choose now...

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/04/2012

22%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $15.41
  • Sophie Come Home

    by Rose on 19/09/2011

    Anyone who has loved a dog will relate to the richness Sophie and the other Griffith's pets bring to their lives - the joy of companionship and the sorrow of loss. Sophie's one amazing (and lucky) dog.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 19/01/2012

$32.99
  • I didn't think about the eyebrows!

    by Rose on 04/02/2012

    Go on, admit it, you had imaginary friends didn't you? Did you remember the eyebrows and whether they had wings, or could open doors, or had special powers?



    Max thought of everything for his special friend Budo and Max is Budo's world. This story is about two mates and its pretty special, even when it gets scary because thats when real friends will come through, even if they are imaginary.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 28/02/2012

$24.99
  • Midsomer Murders without the murder

    by Rose on 02/01/2013

    Pagford, pretty village, close knit community, happy families.



    Umm...no.



    It seems that behind every "perfect" facade people are living lives of misery and discontent.



    The town is divided about the parish council's desire to put out the "trash" that they feel is polluting their township and a whole lot of politics and powertripping is happening around filling a vacant seat on the council.



    In the midst of it all there is the Ghost_Of_Barry creating havoc and exposing the dirty laundry people would really rather stayed hidden. Then there is Krystal.



    An insightful look at class structure in a supposedly class free society and the growing pains of a small town being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st Century.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 27/09/2012

15%
OFF
RRP  $45.00 $38.25
  • Don't mess with the Pride-heart.

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    A cute story for young cat lovers who've ever wanted claws and magical powers.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 24/05/2012

13%
OFF
RRP  $16.99 $14.69
  • James Herriot he is not!

    by Rose on 30/05/2013

    Estranged from his father and reclusive by choice, Cyrus thinks he is happy as a pathologist and not having to deal with live people or animals. But then he is forced back to his hometown, his father's ailing practice and a parade of crazy pets and their owners.



    The first few pages were a challenge for me as Cyrus struggles with the idea of having to put down his first patient. From then on, while he never reveals all, you can see how this one week in his former hometown with people and pets depending on him and his past and future under the microscope changes him. James Herriot he is not but Cyrus is very well written and as a middle-age-coming-of-age story its as delightful as a certain dog finds a certain pair of underpants.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 27/05/2013

$29.99
  • It Could be any street anywhere

    by Rose on 06/05/2013

    I was initally drawn to this story because of the 1970s Adelaide connection - a time and place which I kind of remember. The 70s were an interesting time in that city, but the setting is not really the focus so if you're not into Adelaide, don't overlook this story because of it.



    Jake's "coming of age" is as bittersweet as that journey nearly always is but the real power in this story is that the events taking place behind the closed doors on this "normal" street could be taking place anywhere at any time, maybe even right now on your street.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 30/04/2013

$29.99
  • He's one out of the box but no saint...yet!

    by Rose on 27/05/2013

    Father Bob may be unconventional in his approach as to how he lives his faith and that has undoubtedly ruffled feathers (particularly at 'HQ') but even many his detractors have to admit that he is a man of compassion and conviction.



    His biographer undoubtedly had to be a bit careful about some of the stickier topics but its an action packed read - even without the dirtiest of the laundry being aired.



    Even if you have no interest in religion if there is one message to be had from this book it is this: One person CAN make a difference, especially if he or she can empower others to be better people as well.



    "No more us and them, just we". You may not be gunning for sainthood Father, but you're an inspiration!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 24/04/2013

15%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $25.20
  • Frozen in time.

    by Rose on 27/11/2013

    I love the idea behind this book - the author has taken a random selection of salvaged vintage photographs and woven them into a story about a boy who finds that fairy tales (and nightmares) can come true when he retraces back through his grandfather's peculiar life. It being hardcover adds to the 'vintage' feel and it just makes me want to scour opshops for abandoned photos to write my own story about.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 01/08/2011

26%
OFF
RRP  $34.99 $25.79
  • Perfect soldiers follow orders don't they?

    by Rose on 05/06/2013

    For me, slightly muddled with how the virus came about, the whole Reboot program and why HARC is intent on killing so many people and keeping so many secrets but otherwise a suspenseful and exciting adventure. And you can't help but like Callum. So many questions! So many important questions... Hoping for big things out of the next installment.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 13/01/2017

17%
OFF
RRP  $17.99 $14.85
  • Oh, My Head!

    by Rose on 03/12/2012

    Do you sometimes see and hear things that turn out not to be there? Do you experience dejavu - or its opposite where nothing seems familiar? This was just the start of it for Susannah when she suddenly appeared to go 'mad'.



    Susannah's account of her month of madness and subsequent recovery from the rarely diagnosed condition that caused her brain to be 'on fire' is compelling. For her family and friends and Susannah herself, the loss of the 'old' Susannah and the uncertainty of whether she would recover is frightening. The long road to recovery and the honesty and openess with which Susannah talks about this condition is inspiring. And possibly lifesaving as the condition becomes more widely known.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 13/11/2012

$29.99
  • Watch Out for the Composting Toilet!

    by Rose on 04/04/2013

    This book doesn't make me want children but I certainly enjoyed sharing some of Anna's journey through the minefield of pregancy, birth and what to do with the little bundle of wonder and joy. Some laugh out loud moments, some misty eyed moments and some tricky issues covered with a light and entertaining touch.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 20/03/2013

  $46.25
  • Nelly Dean, ideal companion

    by Rose on 26/06/2015

    Its been many, many years since I read Wuthering Heights and I didn't particularly like it so it was with some trepidation that I opened this book about those same miserable people trapped together in that lonely house on the windswept moors.

    Nelly Dean by Alison Case however is a story with as much heart as the girl herself who proves to be more resourceful and loyal to the family she served for generations than they probably deserved. Well told and easy to read, its an engaging work which took me by surprise.

    If you know and love the original tale, the 'gaps' in this story where years pass and nothing much happens or events are only alluded to, won't be so much of a mystery to you as they were to me. But even you haven't read Wuthering Heights, don't let that keep you from this wonderful read.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/09/2015

17%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $24.74
  • Mind Bending!

    by Rose on 04/02/2014

    If you could live the same life over and over, would you?

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 08/04/2014

 
  • Peculiar Magyk

    by Rose on 12/09/2012



    Time and place: Alternative dimension England where steampower, clockwork, magic, magical creatures and humans share an uneasy existence.



    Cut off from their own world, most of the Fay live in squalor and are treated in equal measure with loathing and fascination by humans. And now changeling children (half faery half human)are disappearing.



    The author is young and he has quite an imagination. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 01/09/2012

29%
OFF
RRP  $33.99 $24.07
  • The Face that launched 1000 problems

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    I wouldn't say for me it was un-putdownable but I couldn't think of reading anything else until I'd finished both the first and this one, the second in this series.



    Having come to terms with being a demigod with a once in 3000 years mission, the extremely sleep deprived Helen (The Face)now has a whole posse of cute boys after her. One of the perks of the job which involves not getting killed (or worse) in the Underworld, saving the four ancient houses plus the world and her friends and family from disaster? Maybe, maybe not...

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 05/07/2012

15%
OFF
RRP  $16.99 $14.44
  • What's A Memory?

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    This book couldn't have answered the question any better. Such a warm and well crafted story its one of my all time favourites by Mem.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 01/09/1989

 
  • To Infinity and Beyond...

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Some books that aim to be a series seem contrived and cumbersome, but this is not one of those. Its a simple idea, just nip back in time and fix 'The Breaks' and everything will be hunky-dory. Or not. An action packed adventure and great for kids you want to get into sci-fi!

Format:

Publication Date: 01/09/2012

44%
OFF
RRP  $14.99 $8.35
  • One Summer

    by Rose on 10/06/2014

    Summer 15 is when everything changes for the Sinclairs, the "perfect" all American family in their insular American dream.

    Summer 17 is when the truth comes out and its guaranteed to have you going back and rereading passages looking for clues.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/08/2014

22%
OFF
RRP  $17.99 $13.99
  • Tick Tock

    by Rose on 27/09/2012

    Timekeeping is useful, it helps us keep track of things like birthdays and train schedules and things like that. But it isn't everything. This is the story of Father Time and the most important discovery of all, what happens when there is all the time in the world. What would you do with it?

Format:

Publication Date: 04/09/2012

$29.99
  • Alex Woods is Awesome!

    by Rose on 06/03/2013

    And that's all I have to say about that!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 12/02/2013

$19.99
  • Future In the Stars

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Earth is close to being uninhabitable and 2 ships have set forth to colonise a new world. The vision is for a new life among the stars but when disaster stikes one ship, their desperate plan for survival creates chaos for both. In the midst of all this are young lovers Kieran and Waverly whose idyllic world is shattered and they must both fight their battles to be reunited.



    Could not put this one down!

Format:

Publication Date: 01/10/2011

$16.99
  • The birds the birds!

    by Rose on 02/05/2012

    This book is in a similar vein to Jackie French's Eureka and other works of historical fiction designed for kids. Ideal for reading in class.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 22/12/2015

14%
OFF
RRP  $15.99 $13.70
  • What is Romeo to do when Juliet is dead and after him?

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    On a scale between 'Meh' and 'Totally Awesome' this is slightly better than OK.



    I thought it was going to be really wet, what with Jana mooning over her non-dead boyfriend, and it is a little, but imaginative and a little sad too. The concept of a school for dead kids with all the same cliques and hangups as kids in a regular school is kind of funny and the way these dead kids can connect (or not) with the outside world is cleverly done.



    There are some parts which might have been polished a bit better and a few unexplained things left hanging (like what happened to Mars at the end, will Jana become some sort of spirit superhero???). The door is open for more in a series so it could get even better if there is.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/06/2012

$14.99
  • Hylas may be a lonely goatherd but this isn't the Sound of Music

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    In the space of half a moon and less than 300 pages goatherd Hylas, an Outsider... is chased by bad guys, loses his sister and his best friend, falls off a horse, picks up a pretty knife, steals a boat, nearly dies, punches a shark (self defence), befriends a dolphin, hooks up with a runaway princess, nearly dies again and finds out why everyone wants that knife (which seems to have a mind of its own). And thats just the half of it. There's gods and warriors and rituals and mystery. Quite an adventure... and its only book 1.

Format: Hardback

Publication Date: 28/08/2012

49%
OFF
RRP  $38.99 $19.75
  • The War Tried To Kill Us In The Spring .. and every day, even after we came home.

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Once human decency is stripped away, whats left? This was a surprising book. I thought it was going to be just another war story but it caught me from the opening line. Its about what war does to people and how this young man copes with being treated like a hero when he sure doesn't feel like one.

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 11/09/2012

$26.99
  • Here's looking at a Classic

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    This is what happens when a movie is written by committee. Dodgy plot, mostly dodgy script (with some classic lines), no budget, several different directors and midgets on a plane.

    Many unanswered questions. How does Rick know exactly how far the Germans are from Paris and what guns they are using? Who told him to go to Casablanca for the waters? What errand did Ilsa have to do in the city that was so important that even invading Nazis couldn't delay it? Will Rick and Louie's beautiful friendship last? Despite all that, still a classic. Just love it!

Format: DVD video

Publication Date: 11/11/2003

  $14.95
  • When the wolves are prowling, where do you turn?

    by Rose on 06/10/2015

    Its the 80s. The time of cassette tapes, the time before you could 'google it' and the time when fear campaigns about a certain mystery disease were grim.



    But its a beautiful story about love and family and friendship, painted with as much artistry as the portrait which is at the centre of it. This book sat on the shelf for several weeks but kept calling to me and I'm glad I listened!

Format:

Publication Date: 07/06/2012

$36.99
  • No Monkey Parts

    by Rose on 06/03/2013

    No Monkey Parts. That is all that Chevie is hoping for when she gets caught up in a time travelling tangle with a boy from the 19th century and a supremely scary villan.



    Better than Artemis Fowl!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 24/04/2013

$19.99
  • The Kids Are Not Alright

    by Rose on 29/07/2013

    Leonard is one of those sharp kids who sees everything but lives mostly in his own head. He needs someone to believe in him and something to believe in. Mostly he just needs someone to listen...

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 13/08/2013

17%
OFF
RRP  $22.99 $18.97
  • You Need A Friend

    by Rose on 01/07/2015

    With great songs, talented lineups and charismatic frontmen, the 1970s & 80s was the time when Australian bands like The Angels, Hunters & Collectors, The Hoodoo Gurus, Radio Birdman, Mental as Anything, Boys Next Door, The Church and INXS were emerging from garages all over the country to rock the pubs and clubs with their unique sounds. Right there with them was The Sunnyboys most well known for songs such as 'Alone with You (tonight)' and 'Show me some Discipline'.

    Talking about his life in Here Comes the Sun, lead singer of the Sunnyboys Jeremy Oxley (Jed) describes a happy, outdoorsy 1960s Australian childhood. As a teen in the 70s he discovers music, girls and drugs. He formed a band with his brother and mates and the Sunnyboys become an 'overnight success' before internal turmoil caused the band to implode, and reform and then implode all over again.

    As Jed's life started to spiral out of control due to mental illness, the band fell apart completely. His life unraveled even further as he battled addiction and became homeless and disconnected from family, friends, society and support networks.

    Its at this point Jed meets Mary who, as a young widow with twin sons, has had her own troubles to contend with. In Mary Jed found someone who he could trust and open up to and in Jeremy Mary found a sweet and sensitive companion who is good to her and her boys. They fall in love and start to build a new life together much to the dismay of some family and friends but with the whole hearted support of others.

    Told with simple honesty and integrity from both Jeremy's and Mary's point of view, Here Comes the Sun is a great read about the road to and from Jeremy and Mary's personal hells and if you don't know the Sunnyboys, look them up!

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication Date: 01/07/2015

16%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $25.00