Loading... Please wait...



Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2

Beastie Boys

Subscribe to alerts


Rated by 0 customers, 

Add your review

The Angus & Robertson difference

  • Proudly Australian owned
  • 30 day no-hassle returns
  • FREE delivery for orders over $30

learn more IN STOCK

Typically received in 15-20 working days after dispatch


FREE delivery over $30.00
FREE Delivery

As of 10 Nov 2014, all orders over $30 will qualify for FREE delivery, and all orders under $30 will incur a $5.99 delivery fee. We have made these changes to ensure we can provide you the sharpest prices possible while continuing to offer you fast & reliable delivery, 30 days no hassle returns and millions of books to choose from.

If you enjoyed this product, share it with others

Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2


Once Adam Yauch discovered he had cancer in 2009, the Beastie Boys shelved their forthcoming The Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 1 and its companion volume, gradually reviving and revising the project once Yauch went into remission. At this point, they scrapped their convoluted plans to release concurrent complementary volumes of THSC and simply went forth with The Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2, which retained the bulk of the track list from Pt 1. All this hurly-burly camouflages the essential truth of The Hot Sauce Committee: that the Beasties could sit on an album for two years to no ill effect to their reputation or the record’s quality. This doesn’t suggest they’re out of step so much as they’re out of time, existing in a world of their own making, beholden to no other standard but their own. Certainly, the Beasties stitch together sounds and rhymes from their past throughout The Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2, laying down grooves à la Check Your Head but weaving samples through these rhythms, thickly layering the album with analog synths out of Hello Nasty, all the while pledging allegiance to old-school rap in their rhymes. Nothing here is exactly unexpected -- even the presence of Santogold on “Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win” isn’t new, it’s new wave -- yet The Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2 feels fresh because there is such kinetic joy propelling this music. Last time around, the Beasties weighed themselves down by creating retro-tribute to N.Y.C., taking everything just a little bit too seriously, but here they’re free of any expectations and are back to doing what they do best: cracking wise and acting so stupid they camouflage how kinetic, inventive, and rich their music is. And, make no mistake, The Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2 does find the Beastie Boys at their best. Perhaps they’re no longer setting the style, but it takes master musicians to continually find new wrinkles within a signature sound, which is precisely what the Beasties do here. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Product details

Publication Date:
Capitol / Parlophone

Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2 track listing

    1. Disc 1

      1. Make Some Noise (3:30)
      2. Nonstop Disco Powerpack (4:09)
      3. OK (2:49)
      4. Too Many Rappers [New Reactionaries Version] (4:51)
      5. Say It (3:25)
      6. Bill Harper Collection (0:24)
      7. Don't Play No Game That I Can't Win (4:11)
      8. Long Burn the Fire (3:33)
      9. Funky Donkey (1:56)
      10. Larry Routine (0:30)
      11. Tadlock's Glasses (2:19)
      12. Lee Majors Come Again (3:43)
      13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament (2:54)
      14. Here's a Little Something for Ya (3:08)
      15. Crazy Ass Shit (1:56)
      16. Lisa Lisa/Full Force Routine (0:48)

Customer Reviews

Average rating from customers

No Rating yet
  • Be the first to review Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2

see all reviews