Rubber Soul

Rubber Soul

by The Beatles

CD-Audio Publication Date: 09/09/2009

While the Beatles still largely stuck to love songs on Rubber Soul, the lyrics represented a quantum leap in terms of thoughtfulness, maturity, and complex ambiguities. Musically, too, it was a substantial leap forward, with intricate folk-rock arrangements that reflected the increasing influence of Dylan and the Byrds. The group and George Martin were also beginning to expand the conventional instrumental parameters of the rock group, using a sitar on "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)," Greek-like guitar lines on "Michelle" and "Girl," fuzz bass on "Think for Yourself," and a piano made to sound like a harpsichord on the instrumental break of "In My Life." While John and Paul were beginning to carve separate songwriting identities at this point, the album is full of great tunes, from "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)" and "Michelle" to "Girl," "I'm Looking Through You," "You Won't See Me," "Drive My Car," and "Nowhere Man" (the last of which was the first Beatle song to move beyond romantic themes entirely). George Harrison was also developing into a fine songwriter with his two contributions, "Think for Yourself" and the Byrds-ish "If I Needed Someone." ~ Richie Unterberger
Publication Date:
Apple / Capitol / Apple Corps

Disc 1

  1. Drive My Car (2:28)
  2. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) (2:04)
  3. You Won't See Me (3:19)
  4. Nowhere Man (2:43)
  5. Think for Yourself (2:18)
  6. Word (2:43)
  7. Michelle (2:42)
  8. What Goes On (2:48)
  9. Girl (2:31)
  10. I'm Looking Through You (2:26)
  11. In My Life (2:26)
  12. Wait (2:14)
  13. If I Needed Someone (2:22)
  14. Run for Your Life (2:23)
  15. Rubber Soul Mini-Documentary (N/A)
  • Despatched directly to you from the USA.
  • Tracking is not available for international items.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Rubber Soul.