Loading... Please wait...




Hugh Masekela

Subscribe to alerts


Rated by 0 customers, 

Add your review

The Angus & Robertson difference

  • Proudly Australian owned
  • 30 day no-hassle returns
  • FREE delivery for orders over $30

Not in Stock

Get notified when this item becomes available


FREE delivery over $30

If you enjoyed this product, share it with others



Presumably to commemorate his 60th birthday, Hugh Masekela released an album of primarily African works. The album starts with a tribute to Fela, a kindred spirit in African horn playing and a friend of Masekela. After that, it moves on through a number of traditional songs and trips down memory lane. The liner notes give a good deal of background information on each of the songs (always a plus). From time to time, the music seems to slip into something of a contemporary Harry Belafonte-esque sound (which perhaps might not be completely surprising, given the repeated collaborations between Belafonte and Miriam Makeba, coupled with Masekela's marriage to Makeba). Despite (or due to) any such similarities that may arise, this is international pop at its best. Also, the backing vocals of the Family Factory group are exceptional, at the very least. For fans of "Grazin' in the Grass," this album might not be too well suited to you. For fans of basic African pop, jazz, highlife, and worldbeat, it's probably a good find. ~ Adam Greenberg

Product details

Publication Date:
Shanachie Records

Sixty track listing

    1. Disc 1

      1. Fela (5:35)
      2. Thanayi (5:27)
      3. Shango (5:31)
      4. Mamoriri (4:20)
      5. Mbombela (5:27)
      6. Mgewundini (5:18)
      7. Nomalizo (6:31)
      8. Bo Masekela (5:20)
      9. Tamati So So (7:26)
      10. Ziphi 'Nkomo (6:49)
      11. Lizzy (6:13)
      12. Been Such a Long Time Gone (4:32)
      13. Koshana (1:38)

Customer Reviews

Average rating by 0 customers

No Rating yet
  • Be the first to review Sixty

see all reviews