Loading... Please wait...



Woke Up This Morning and Found Myself Dead

Jimi Hendrix

Subscribe to alerts

Rated by 0 customers, 

Add your review

The Angus & Robertson difference

  • Proudly Australian owned
  • 30 day no-hassle returns
  • FREE delivery for orders over $30

Not in Stock

Get notified when this item becomes available


FREE delivery over $30

If you enjoyed this product, share it with others

Woke Up This Morning and Found Myself Dead


We know Hendrix was influenced by Bob Dylan, as shown by his covers of "All Along the Watchtower" and "Like a Rolling Stone" (live at Monterey). On this star-studded live jam previously released as a bootleg called Sky High, it's obvious Jimi listened to other people, too. He opens "Red House" quoting from "Crossroads," the Cream take on a legendary Robert Johnson blues. Later, Hendrix plays a Beatles tune and further tips his hat to Eric Clapton by closing with the unmistakable "Sunshine of Your Love" riff. At times, Hendrix and Johnny Winter lock into an elemental force, although a seriously drunk Jim Morrison doesn't add much except obscenities. The drumming of Randy Z. for the first half and Buddy Miles the rest of the way produces renewed appreciation for Mitch Mitchell and the way his inventiveness meshed so well with Hendrix's brilliance. This album, which suffers from bad sound, is mandatory for completists, Hendrix fanatics and historians. For everyone else, it's a revealing glimpse into his love of jamming and the blues, including an Elmore James song. ~ Mark Allan

Product details

Publication Date:

Woke Up This Morning and Found Myself Dead track listing

    1. Disc 1

      1. Little Wing (N/A)
      2. Voodoo Chile (N/A)
      3. Purple Haze (N/A)
      4. Sunshine of Your Love (N/A)
      5. Bleeding Heart (N/A)
      6. Wake up This Morning and Found Yourself Dead (N/A)
      7. Tomorrow Never Knows (N/A)
      8. Fire (N/A)
      9. Wild Thing (N/A)
      10. Morrisons Lament (N/A)
      11. Red House (N/A)
      12. Good Times (N/A)
      13. Voices (N/A)
      14. Voice in the Wind (N/A)
      15. Two and One Goes (N/A)
      16. Let Me Go (N/A)
      17. Uranus Rock (N/A)
      18. Outside Woman Blues (N/A)
      19. Room Full of Mirrors (N/A)
      20. Blues Blues (N/A)
      21. Free Spirit (N/A)
      22. Psycho (N/A)
      23. Wipe the Sweat (N/A)
      24. Groove Maker (N/A)
      25. Hot Trigger (N/A)
      26. Night Life (N/A)
      27. You Got It (N/A)
      28. Suspicious (N/A)
      29. Goodbye Bessie Mae (N/A)
      30. Shes a Fox (N/A)
      31. Freedom and You (N/A)
      32. Shes So Fine (N/A)
      33. Sweet Thing (N/A)

Customer Reviews

Average rating by 0 customers

No Rating yet
  • Be the first to review Woke Up This Morning and Found Myself Dead

see all reviews