New Releases & In the News

See More New Releases

What Others Are Reading


 Our Book of the Month

Afterpay it

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls Read Like a Girl

Coming Soon - Pre-Order Today

See More Pre-Order Books

Pocket Trench Classics Get Trumped

Featured Staff Picks

Paperback / softback
RRP  $32.99

The Ruin

by Dervla Mctiernan

Why Our Staff Love The Ruin: 

Fans of Jane Harper and Sarah Bailey looking for their next great crime read are in for a treat with The Ruin, a dark and intricate debut from Aussie author Dervla McTiernan that will simply blow you away.

Set in Ireland and following Garda Cormac Reilly as he tries to solve a case that has been haunting him for 20 years, this is a story with a good thick plot and an atmosphere of almost Gothic dread. What’s more, it doesn’t have to rely on sensationalist gore to crank up the tension - each and every scene is crafted to dark perfection, slowly building to an explosive finale that will leave you shaken to your core.

Australian crime fiction keeps going from strength to strength, and if The Ruin is anything to go by then Dervla McTiernan is definitely one to watch.

Book Description:

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ...

The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer. Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs. Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own.

As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't.

Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.




See More Fiction Staff Picks