Free Shipping on Order Over $90
AfterPay Available
Body of Stars

Body of Stars

A Novel

by Laura Maylene Walter
Hardback
Publication Date: 16/03/2021
  $39.95
From debut novelist Laura Maylene Walter, a bold and dazzling exploration of fate and female agency in a world very similar to our own--except that the markings on women's bodies reveal the future

Perfect for fans of Leni Zumas's Red Clocks and Naomi Alderman's The Power, Body of Stars is a unique and timely exploration of girlhood, womanhood, and toxic masculinity. A piercing indictment of rape culture, it is an inventive and urgent read about what happens when women are objectified and stripped of choice--and what happens when they fight back.

Celeste Morton has eagerly awaited her passage to adulthood. Like every girl, she was born with a set of childhood markings--the freckles, moles, and birthmarks on her body that foretell her future and that of those around her--and with puberty will come a new set of predictions that will solidify her fate. The possibilities are tantalizing enough to outweigh the worry that the future she dreams of won't be the one she's fated to have and the fear of her "changeling period": the time when women are nearly irresistible to men and the risk of abduction is rife.

Celeste's beloved brother, Miles, is equally anticipating her transition to adulthood. As a skilled interpreter of the future, a field that typically excludes men, Miles considers Celeste his practice ground--and the only clue to what his own future will bring. But when Celeste changes, she learns a devastating secret about Miles's fate: a secret that could destroy her family, a secret she will do anything to keep. Yet Celeste isn't the only one keeping secrets, and when the lies of brother and sister collide, it leads to a tragedy that will irrevocably change Celeste's fate, set her on a path to fight against the inherent misogyny of fortune-telling, and urge her to create a future that is truly her own.
ISBN:
9780593183052
9780593183052
Category:
Classic fiction
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
16-03-2021
Language:
English
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Country of origin:
United States
Dimensions (mm):
234.95x157.48x30.99mm
Weight:
0.56kg
Laura Maylene Walter

Laura Maylene Walter is an award-winning author whose work has been published in Poets & Writers, Ninth Letter, The Masters Review, and many others. Laura is interested in phenomena she doesn't necessarily believe in and explores her fascination of the stars and fortune-telling in her debut novel, Body of Stars. When she's not writing, you can find her editing for the Cleveland Public Library and the Gordon Square Review, blogging for the Kenyon Review and playing with her two cats, Saucy and Cirrus. Laura enjoys hiking, traveling, camping, indulging in a good beer or glass of wine, and taking long walks in woods and graveyards.

This title is in stock with our US supplier and is sent from our Sydney warehouse within 10-15 working days of you placing an order.    

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Body of Stars.