Clock Dance

Clock Dance

A Novel

by Anne Tyler

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 16/07/2018

21%
OFF
RRP  $32.99 $26.35

Anne Tyler is back! With a companion piece to her huge bestseller A Spool of Blue Thread shortlisted for the Booker and Bailey's, Richard & Judy pick, Waterstones Book of the Month

Why Our Staff Love Clock Dance:

Fans of A Spool of Blue Thread and Anne Tyler's other bestselling novels will delight in her latest undertaking. Tender, bittersweet and understated, Clock Dance absorbs readers with its warm and charming prose from page one. Readers following the seemingly placid Willa on her snap-decision journey across the nation to enter a new family life will find that it is full of unexpected pleasures and moving revelations.

This is a novel bound in the hidden magic of the everyday.

Book Description:

Willa Drake can count on one hand the defining moments of her life: when she was eleven and her mother disappeared, being proposed to at twenty-one, the accident that would make her a widow at forty-one. At each of these moments, Willa ended up on a path laid out for her by others.

So when she receives a phone call telling her that her son’s ex-girlfriend has been shot and needs her help, she drops everything and flies across the country. The spur-of-the moment decision to look after this woman – and her nine-year-old daughter, and her dog – will lead Willa into uncharted territory. Surrounded by new and surprising neighbours, she is plunged into the rituals that make a community, and takes pleasure in the most unexpected things.

A bittersweet novel of hope and regret, fulfilment and renewal, Clock Dance brings us the everyday life of a woman who decides it’s never too late to change direction, and choose your own path.

'She is and always will be my favourite author' Liane Moriarty

ISBN:
9781784742447
9781784742447
Category:
Classic fiction
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
16-07-2018
Language:
English
Publisher:
Penguin Random House
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Pages:
304
Dimensions (mm):
231x154x26mm
Weight:
0.4kg
Anne Tyler

Anne Tyler is the author of twenty bestselling novels. Her most recent, A Spool of Blue Thread, was a Sunday Times bestseller and shortlisted for both the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and the Man Booker Prize. She has won the Pulitzer Prize and the Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence, which recognises a lifetime's achievement in books, as well as being nominated by Roddy Doyle and Nick Hornby as 'the greatest novelist writing in English'.

Vinegar Girl sees Anne Tyler going behind the scenes of one of Shakespeare's most controversial yet enduring (Kiss Me Kate, 10 Things I Hate About You) plays: 'You know how sometimes a friend will tell you something that happened to her, and you think wait, there must be more to it than that, I'm sure there's another side to this. Well, that's how I've always felt about The Taming of the Shrew.'

This item is in stock in our Sydney warehouse and typically delivered to you within 4 working days for most Australian capitals. 

Once despatched we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

 

An overall delivery time for this item to your address is:

NSW Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
NSW Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
VIC & SA Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
VIC & SA Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Metro: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Regional: 8 - 14 working days.
TAS: 3 - 5 working days.
WA Metro: 5 - 7 working days.
WA Regional: 6 - 9 working days.
NT Metro: 6 - 8 working days.
NT Regional: 8 - 14 working days.

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock 2-4 days'. Express Post orders are delivered in two business days to the following locations:

NSW - Sydney, Gosford, Newcastle, Wollongong.
VIC - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo.
ACT - Canberra.
SA - Adelaide.
QLD - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast.
TAS - Hobart, Launceston.
WA - Perth CBD postcode 6000 only.
NT - Express Post is not available.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Clock Dance.