Free Shipping on Order Over $90
AfterPay Available
Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets

Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets

A Muslim Book of Shapes

by Hena Khan and Mehrdokht Amini
Paperback
Publication Date: 09/03/2021
RRP  $17.13 $16.90
Magnificently capturing the shapes of Islam, this acclaimed book that inspired curiosity and conversations about world religions and cultures is now available in paperback.

From a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes-and traditions--of the Muslim world. With stunning illustrations, a rhyming read-aloud text, and strong backmatter, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets will inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, and is equally at home in a classroom reading circle as it is being read to a child on a parent's lap.

* A BOOK ABOUT MUSLIM CULTURE, CREATED BY MUSLIMS: There is a desperate need for books about diverse cultures, created by people originating from that culture, including books about Islam and contemporary Muslim life. Both the writer and illustrator identify as Muslim: The illustrator is Iranian and lives in London, while the writer is Pakistani American and lives in Rockville, Maryland.
* COMPELLING AUTHOR: Hena Khan is a dynamic, charismatic speaker, who does 40 school, community center, and mosque visits a year, and regularly sells out spaces that hold 300+ people. She is active in her local Muslim community as well as the larger Muslim writing community, regularly speaking on panels and attending conferences.
* AWARD-WINNING ILLUSTRATOR: Mehrdokht Amini received the 2016 Children's Africana Book Award for her book Chicken in the Kitchen and has been nominated for the prestigious Kate Greenaway medal.
* AN EFFECTIVE WAY TO COUNTER ANTI-MUSLIM BULLYING: There is nothing like reading books to understand another culture and increase understanding and empathy.

Perfect for:

* Teachers and librarians
* Families looking for books that reflect their faith and identity
* Families who want to introduce Islam or other cultures to children
* Fans of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns, Night of the Moon, and/or Hena Khan and Mehrdokht Amini's other publishing
* Anyone looking for #ownvoices and #WNDB
ISBN:
9781452182742
9781452182742
Category:
General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
09-03-2021
Language:
English
Publisher:
Chronicle Books LLC
Country of origin:
United States
Dimensions (mm):
281.94x232.41x10.16mm
Weight:
0.22kg
Hena Khan

Hena Khan is the author of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: A Muslim Book of Colors, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes, Night of Moon: A Muslim Holiday Story, and other books for children.

Hena is a native of Rockville, Maryland, where she lives with her husband and their two sons.

Mehrdokht Amini

Mehrdokht Amini is the illustrator of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: A Muslim Book of Colors, Chicken in the Kitchen, Yo Soy Muslim, and other books for children. For Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets, she was inspired by the idea of bringing classical elements of Islamic art into a modern setting. She grew up in Iran and now lives in Surrey, England.

This title is in stock with our US supplier and is sent from our Sydney warehouse within 10-15 working days of you placing an order.    

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets.