Free shipping on orders over $99

Doodles from the Boogie Down

by Stephanie Rodriguez
Hardback
Publication Date: 23/05/2023

Share This Book:

 
A young Dominican girl navigates middle school, her strict mother, shifting friendships, and her dream of being an artist in this debut coming-of-age graphic novel inspired by the author's tween years.

Eighth grade in New York City means one thing: It's time to start applying to high schools! While her friends are looking at school catalogs and studying for entrance exams, Steph is doodling in her notebook and waiting for art class to begin. When her art teacher tells her about LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Arts, Steph desperately wants to apply. But she's in the Bronx, and LaGuardia is a public school in Manhattan--which her mom would not approve of. Steph comes up with a plan that includes lying to her mom, friends, and teachers. Keeping secrets isn't easy, and Steph must decide how far she'll go to get what she wants.

Doodles from the Boogie Down is a sparkling semi-autobiographical middle grade graphic novel debut set in the early aughts that's perfect for fans of Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm and Real Friends by Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham.
ISBN:
9780451480651
9780451480651
Category:
General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
23-05-2023
Language:
English
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Country of origin:
United States
Dimensions (mm):
219.2x147.57x19.81mm
Weight:
0.55kg

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Reviews

Be the first to review Doodles from the Boogie Down.