Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
Educated

Educated

A Memoir

by Tara Westover
Paperback
Publication Date: 30/10/2018
 
For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover's mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn't have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school--ever--and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.
ISBN:
9781984854858
9781984854858
Category:
Memoirs
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
30-10-2018
Publisher:
Random House
Pages:
352
Tara Westover

Tara Westover was born in rural Idaho. She studied history at Brigham Young University and upon graduation was awarded a Gates Cambridge Scholarship. She received an MPhil in intellectual history from Trinity College, Cambridge in 2009, and a PhD in the same subject in 2014.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Educated.