Free Shipping on Order Over $80
AfterPay Available
Eudora Honeysett Is Quite Well, Thank You

Eudora Honeysett Is Quite Well, Thank You 1

by Annie Lyons
Paperback
Publication Date: 19/11/2020
5/5 Rating 1 Reviews
RRP  $22.99 $21.50

*Shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year Award*

'Like a hot cup of tea on a wintry afternoon - absolute comfort' Reader review

'Wow - definitely my book of the year... in my all time top ten!' Reader review

'This is undoubtedly one of the best books that I have read this year' Reader review

'An exquisitely poignant tale of life, friendship and facing death... Everyone should read this book' Ruth Hogan, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

Eudora Honeysett is done - with all of it. Having seen first-hand what a prolonged illness can create, the eighty-five-year-old has no intention of leaving things to chance. With one call to a clinic in Switzerland she takes her life into her own hands.

But then ten-year-old Rose arrives in a riot of colour on her doorstep. Now, as precocious Rose takes Eudora on adventures she'd never imagined she reflects on the trying times of her past and soon finds herself wondering - is she ready for death when she's only just experienced what it's like to truly live?

A heartfelt story of life, death, friendship and family perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman

Readers love Eudora!

'I have to say this is the best book that I have ever read! Being in my 40s I've read a lot of books!' Lyn

'One of those that I will always remember...it really has touched me like no other book has' Sylvia

'I read this book in one sitting because the characters were so real I didn't want to leave them' Cheryl

'One of the most uplifting and heartwarming books of 2020' Kelly

'Absolutely the book we need right now...Uplifting, warm and all about the power of friendship, this book felt like a tonic to the madness of the world' Andi

'One heroine I will never forget...We all need friends like Eudora, Stanley and Rose in our lives. Their kindness is a shining light in these stormy times' Celia Anderson, bestselling author of 59 Memory Lane

'Strikes a winning balance, reaching deep feelings while avoiding the traps of sentimentality' Publishers Weekly

'Unique and wonderful...a sensitive examination of human connections' Kirkus Reviews

'A thoroughly enchanting feel-good read' Booklist

ISBN:
9780008405380
9780008405380
Category:
Humour
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
19-11-2020
Language:
English
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers Limited
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
198x129x23mm
Weight:
0.27kg

This title is in stock with our UK supplier and is sent from our Sydney warehouse within 15 working days of you placing an order.  

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

5 / 5 (1 Ratings)
  • a heart-warming, funny and truly uplifting read.

    by on

    “This little girl is like a grenade packed full of joie de vivre and Eudora has no idea why she has been chosen as a friend. Eudora is everything Rose isn’t: old, disillusioned and able to keep her emotions in check. Yet it’s not unpleasant having the child around. She is infuriatingly persistent but unrelentingly kind.”

    Eudora Honeysett Is Quite Well, Thank You is the seventh novel by British author, Annie Lyons. Eudora Honeysett’s eighty-fifth birthday is sombre and solitary; it’s just her and her twelve-year-old cat, Montgomery, who has “morphed into the equivalent of a long-endured husband – cantankerous, off-hand, and only interested in being fed.”

    The highlight of her day is the arrival of the A4 envelope from the Swiss clinic offering Voluntary Assisted Death. She reasons: “I am eighty-five years old and done with life. My body is deteriorating and I want to have a choice about how I die. I am not depressed or unhappy. I just want to have a say about what happens to me before it’s too late.”

    However, the very next day, ten-year-old Rose Trewidney drops into her life. Rose and her family, including her unborn sister Daisy, are Eudora’s new neighbours. Rose is inquisitive, endlessly chatty and loves wearing bright colours, whether or not they match. And she seems determined to socialise with Eudora and include her in everything.

    Stanley Marcham, recent widower, owner of two yappy dogs, eternal joker and summoner of an ambulance when Eudora fell in the path the previous year, falls under Rose’s spell, and before long, Eudora finds herself, reluctantly, swept into activities with these two and their families. It’s all quite distracting…

    “She wasn’t lying when she said it had been a pleasant afternoon. She finds Stanley irritating but Rose is a force of nature. However, Eudora doesn’t have time for this. She has a death to plan and can’t allow the distraction of human kindness to stand in her way.”

    While Eudora liaises with the understanding personnel at the Swiss clinic, awaiting approval for her intentions (“If I can have the choice of how I live my own life, why can’t I choose how to die my own death?’), she is reminded by a death doula to “embrace life for as long as possible – cherish and value it”. And she begins to realise that “the clamour of death has been drowned out by the noisy distraction of life.”

    What a wonderful story Lyons gives the reader. The narrative splits between the present day and glimpses of Eudora’s life from when she was a child during the war, onwards. In each chapter, some aspect of Eudora’s current life prompts a memory of earlier events, gradually revealing how she has become a private and somewhat unsociable old lady.

    While the plot bears some resemblance to A Man Called Ove, Eudora’s attitudes fit her age much better. And while Stanley is a fun character, Rose is the star of the show, an absolute delight, providing many laugh-out-loud moments, necessary because there are also instances where the tears cannot fail to flow. Even if death plays a large role, this is a heart-warming, funny and truly uplifting read.
    This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by NetGalley and Harper Collins UK One More Chapter.