Free shipping on orders over $99
Here We Are Now

Here We Are Now

by Jasmine Warga
Hardback
Publication Date: 07/11/2017

Share This Book:

 

A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and Fangirl.

Taliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jordan and very secretive about her past, won't say a word about who her dad really was. But when Tal finds a shoebox full of old letters from Julian Oliver--yes, the indie rock star Julian Oliver--she begins to piece the story together.

She writes to Julian, but after three years of radio silence, she's given up hope. Then one day, completely out of the blue, Julian shows up at her doorstep, and Tal doesn't know whether to be furious or to throw herself into his arms. Before she can decide, he asks her to go on a trip with him to meet her long-estranged family and to say good-bye to his father, her grandfather, who is dying.

Getting to know your father after sixteen years of estrangement doesn't happen in one car ride. But as Tal spends more time with Julian and his family, she begins to untangle her parents' secret past, and discovers a part of herself she never recognized before.

By the acclaimed author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, this is an intergenerational story of family and legacy and the way love informs both of those things. It's about secrets and the debt of silence. It's about the power of songs. And most of all, it's about learning how to say hello. And good-bye.

ISBN:
9780062324702
9780062324702
Category:
General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
07-11-2017
Language:
English
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Country of origin:
United States
Dimensions (mm):
209.55x139.7x25.65mm
Weight:
0.38kg
Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga is also the author of the teen books, Here We Are Now, and My Heart and Other Black Holes, which has been translated into over twenty languages.

She lives and writes in Chicago, IL.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Reviews

Be the first to review Here We Are Now.