Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
In a House of Lies

In a House of Lies 1

by Ian Rankin
Publication Date: 04/10/2018
4/5 Rating 1 Reviews
RRP  $32.99 $30.75

In a house of lies, who can ever know the truth?

The iconic Ian Rankin returns with a new Detective John Rebus novel - this year's essential must-read bestseller.

Crime & Mystery
Publication Date:
Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature.

His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide. Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award.

He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis.

Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.

This title is in stock with our Australian supplier and arrives at our Sydney warehouse within 4 weeks of you placing an order.

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4 / 5 (1 Ratings)
  • Rebus' Edinburgh is always a nice place to go

    by on

    I can’t believe this is the 22nd Rebus novel! He might be getting on a bit, but he’s still up there sorting out the criminals of Edinburgh like no body’s business. He’s got a case with serious bite in this novel and it takes him across the city and to the woods where a body is found..

    Poretoun woods is luckily fictional but it sounded and felt so real, I did have to look for them even though I lived in Edinburgh for ages. That’s what Ian Rankin does to my head. He messes it up in the best way possible with showing me the darkest corners of the city which either seem real or reveal their dark sides I’d never noticed before.

    The dead body in this case, with his feet in handcuffs turns out to be gay private investigator, Stuart Bloom, who disappeared in 2006. There were troubles of land grabs and a fight over whether a film studio or a golf course should win out. A cold case now has suddenly become very hot in deed…

    There’s not just a house of lies but a whole city of them it would seem. I particularly liked getting to know Clarke more and he traumas and her work over a cold case.That was a good story in itself! Getting cold calls from mysterious phoneboxes in the city gave the whole thing a feeling of being watched and tracked.

    Rebus might be getting older but the humour of the books isn’t. The police from the original case for example were nicknamed the Chuggabugs from the Wacky Races. And faces from the past return in the form of Morris Gerald Cafferty, Big Ger, the gangster and hardman.

    A solid case for Rebus and a solid read for fans everywhere.