Free Shipping on Order Over $80
AfterPay Available
Music and Freedom

Music and Freedom

by Zoe Morrison
Paperback
Publication Date: 01/05/2017
16%
OFF
RRP  $22.99 $19.50

**Winner of 2017 Australian Literary Society Gold Medal**

**Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction**

**Shortlisted for the Voss Literary Prize 2017**

A gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

I have no use for forgiveness, not yet. But other ideas like that, kindness, for example, I think that is fundamental. Resurrection; I like that too. And love, of course, love, love, love.

Alice Murray learns to play the piano aged three on an orange orchard in rural Australia. Recognising her daughter’s gift, her mother sends Alice to boarding school in the bleak north of England, and there Alice stays for the rest of her childhood. Then she’s offered a scholarship to the Royal College of Music in London, and on a summer school in Oxford she meets Edward, an economics professor who sweeps her off her feet.

Alice soon finds that Edwards is damaged, and she’s trapped. She clings to her playing and to her dream of becoming a concert pianist, until disaster strikes. Increasingly isolated as the years unravel, eventually Alice can’t find it in herself to carry on. Then she hears the most beautiful music from the walls of her house …

This novel’s love story is that of a woman who must embrace life again if she is to survive. Inspiring and compelling, it explores the dark terrain of violence and the transformative powers of music and love.

ISBN:
9781925324228
9781925324228
Category:
Contemporary fiction
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
01-05-2017
Publisher:
Random House Australia
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
352
Dimensions (mm):
196x130x28mm
Weight:
0.24kg
Zoe Morrison

Zoë Morrison is the author of the novel Music and Freedom, shortlisted for the Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction and commended in the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

She has a DPhil in Human Geography from Oxford University, where she studied as a Rhodes Scholar, before working as a college lecturer.

Her research work has included the fields of gendered violence and social justice. Zoë also studied piano performance at the Adelaide Conservatorium of Music. She lives in Melbourne.

This item is In Stock in our Sydney warehouse and typically sent from our warehouse within 1-2 working days.

Once sent we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock'.

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Music and Freedom.