Not That Kind of Girl

Not That Kind of Girl 1

A Young Woman Tells You What She's 'Learned'

by Lena Dunham

Hardback Publication Date: 01/10/2014

4/5 Rating 1 Reviews
  $29.99
Lena Durham delivers an insightful, smart and at times outrageous book of essays of her experiences growing up. Not that kind of girl is everything you expect from Lena and more, it will have you gawking ('did she really say that?!') and laughing out loud.

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham - the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO's Girls - as one of the brightest and most original writers working today. "Not That Kind of Girl is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition." - Miranda July From the acclaimed creator, producer and star of HBO's Girls comes a hilarious, wise and fiercely candid collection of personal essays that establishes Lena Dunham as one of the most original young talents writing today. In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one's way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself to a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told. Exuberant, moving and keenly observed, Not That Kind of Girl is a series of despatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. "I'm already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you," Dunham writes. "But if I can take what I've learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile."

ISBN:
9780732297916
9780732297916
Category:
Memoirs
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
01-10-2014
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
288
Dimensions (mm):
216x147x30mm
Weight:
0.42kg

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4 / 5 (1 Ratings)
  • More Girls!

    by on

    Unsurprisingly to any fans of the hit HBO show Girls, Lena Dunham is one hell of a writer. Her witty one-liners can be laugh out loud funny and her insight or memories of her childhood and her foray into sex, school and growing up is great. However any fans of Girls (which you would assume will be the audience for this book) will be looking for some behind-the-scenes goss about what it's like on set, how she made the transition from small plays to a hit cult show, how she juggles it all, anything at all about the show that made us all love her. Hopefully it means we will be seeing another book from her soon. Not That Kind of Girl is still a great insight into Lena and her brilliant writing style.