Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
The Mercies

The Mercies

by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Hardback
Publication Date: 11/02/2020
  $36.99

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020.

For readers of Circe and The Handmaid's Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardø is now a place of women.

Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . .

'Beautiful and chilling' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe
'Took my breath away' - Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring

ISBN:
9781529005103
9781529005103
Category:
Historical Fiction
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
11-02-2020
Language:
English
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
216x135x29mm
Weight:
0.46kg
Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is an award-winning poet, playwright, and bestselling novelist. Her debut novel for children The Girl of Ink & Stars won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, and the British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year.

Her work has been short- and long-listed for other major prizes including the Costa Award, and the CILIP Carnegie Award. The Deathless Girls is her first novel for Young Adults. She's a graduate of both Oxford and Cambridge Universities, and lives by the river in Oxford with her husband and cat.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Mercies.