The Mitford Murders

The Mitford Murders

Curl up with the Must-Read Mystery of the Year

by Jessica Fellowes

Hardback Publication Date: 12/09/2017

  $40.99
'Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable'Anthony HorowitzLose yourself in the sumptuous first novel in a new series of Golden Age mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.But when a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, Nancy and amateur sleuth Louisa find that in postwar England, everyone has something to hide . . . Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murdersis the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, AnthonyHorowitzand Agatha Christie - and isbased on a real unsolved crime.'True and glorious indulgence.A dazzlingexample of a Golden Age mystery'Daisy Goodwin'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times.? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you.Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'Susan Hill'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'The Pool
ISBN:
9780751567151
9780751567151
Category:
Crime & Mystery
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
12-09-2017
Publisher:
Little, Brown Book Group Limited
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
241x160x37mm
Weight:
0.7kg
Jessica Fellowes

Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker, best known for her work as author of five official companion books to Downton Abbey, various of which have hit the New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller lists.

Former deputy editor of Country Life and columnist on the Mail on Sunday, she has written for publications including the Daily Telegraph, the Guardian, The Sunday Times and The Lady.

Jessica has spoken at events across the UK and US, and has made numerous appearances on radio and television. She lives happily in London and Oxfordshire with her family, an energetic Labradoodle and two chickens.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Mitford Murders.