Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
The Noise of Time

The Noise of Time 1

by Julian Barnes

Hardback Publication Date: 01/02/2016

5/5 Rating 1 Reviews

In May 1937 a man in his early thirties waits by the lift of a Leningrad apartment block.

He waits all through the night, expecting to be taken away to the Big House. Any celebrity he has known in the previous decade is no use to him now. And few who are taken to the Big House ever return.

So begins Julian Barnes' first novel since his Booker-winning The Sense of an Ending. A story about the collision of Art and Power, about human compromise, human cowardice and human courage, it is the work of a true master.

This book features in our Best Books of 2016 (so far)

Contemporary fiction
Publication Date:
Penguin Random House
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Dimensions (mm):
Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes is the author of thirteen novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction, and The Noise of Time. He has also written three books of short stories, four collections of essays and two books of non-fiction, Nothing to be Frightened Of and the Sunday Times number one bestseller Levels of Life. In 2017 he was awarded the Legion d'honneur.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

5 / 5 (1 Ratings)
  • A long-awaited masterpiece

    by on

    This book demolishes the reader. In under 200 pages, Barnes illustrates a life lived under the shadow of power and in fleeting moments - a train platform, a transatlantic flight, the door of an elevator - meditates on art and existence:

    'Art is the whisper of history, heard above the noise of time. Art does not exist for art's sake: it exist's for people's sake. But which people, and who defines them?'

    Each sentence is delicately crafted. Every page begs to be read aloud. Read and reread.