The Secret Life of Bees

The Secret Life of Bees

by Sue Monk Kidd

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 23/11/2011

 
A beautiful slipcased special edition commemorating the 10th anniversary of Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina and a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller as well as a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pickFans of Kathryn Stockett'sThe Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love. To celebrate the tenth anniversary of the book's debut, Penguin presents a beautiful special edition of this wonderful novel, including a new introduction by the author--a gorgeous book that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
ISBN:
9780143120261
9780143120261
Category:
Contemporary fiction
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
23-11-2011
Language:
English
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Country of origin:
United States
Edition:
10th Edition
Pages:
302
Dimensions (mm):
208x137x25mm
Weight:
0.44kg

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Secret Life of Bees.

You can find this item in: