The Secrets We Keep

The Secrets We Keep

by Shirley Patton

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 19/03/2018

19%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $24.18

For readers of Judy Nunn's Spirits of the Ghan…

When a newcomer blows into the mining town of Kalgoorlie she unwittingly uncovers a web of lies and a heartbreaking tie with her tumultuous past in this compelling family saga where the personal and political collide.

A mother's secret, a father's betrayal, a town on the edge…

When social worker Aimee arrives in the mining town of Kalgoorlie, she is ready for a fresh start. Her colleagues Lori and Paddy seem friendly, and she is also drawn to one of her cases: the Steele family, whose future looks particularly bleak. But Aimee has a dark secret and as the past reaches out towards her once more, she realises that somehow her secret is connected to this unfamiliar but harshly beautiful town and its inhabitants.

As she strengthens her ties with the local community especially with the vibrant Lori, stoical Kerry and wise Agnes she finds herself questioning earlier decisions. Can she reveal her secret, even if it is not hers alone to share?

A compelling novel of the transcendental love of children and the truth's unwillingness to stay hidden.

ISBN:
9781489246783
Category:
Contemporary fiction
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
19-03-2018
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
352
Dimensions (mm):
234x155x27mm
Weight:
0.41kg
Shirley Patton

Shirley Patton grew up in outback Western Australia and now lives with her partner and a miniature schnauzer, in wine-growing country overlooking the beautiful Tamar River, Northern Tasmania. She left an academic career as a published researcher of family violence and a lecturer to write fiction full time.

Since then, she has published several short stories in a variety of literary publications. Prior to practising social work, Shirley worked in the media as a television newsreader and television chat show host. Like one of the characters in The Secrets We Keep, Shirley's Irish great grandmother read tea leaves.

This item is in stock at our Sydney warehouse and you can expect to receive your order in 4 working days or less for most Australian capitals. We send it to you via the Australia Post eParcel service, which includes online tracking.

Please check below to see indicative delivery timeframes for your area. Please allow extra time during peak holiday periods.

Delivered to:

NSW Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
NSW Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
VIC & SA Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
VIC & SA Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Metro: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Regional: 8 - 14 working days.
TAS: 3 - 5 working days.
WA Metro: 5 - 7 working days.
WA Regional: 6 - 9 working days.
NT Metro: 6 - 8 working days.
NT Regional: 8 - 14 working days.

 

 

This item can also be shipped via express post. If all the items in your cart list "In-Stock 2-4 days" then you can select for your order to be shipped via Express Post. Your order will be shipped the next business day, and delivery will be the following business day, if you are within Australia Post's Next Day Delivery Network.

This includes:

NSW - Sydney, Gosford, Newcastle, Wollongong.
VIC - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo.
ACT - Canberra.
SA - Adelaide.
QLD - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast.
TAS - Hobart, Launceston.
WA - Perth CBD postcode 6000 only.
NT - Express Post is not available.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Secrets We Keep.

You can find this item in: