NEED IT BY CHRISTMAS?
Three Gold Coins

Three Gold Coins 1

by Josephine Moon

Paperback Publication Date: 21/03/2018

5/5 Rating 1 Reviews
19%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $24.18

For readers of Monica McInerney, Jojo Moyes, Fiona McIntosh and Rachael Johns, comes a deliciously complex novel of families, food, adversity, hope and love.

'What a gloriously wonderful read, I loved it.' Cathy Kelly (on The Tea Chest)

One coin for love, one for marriage, one to return to Rome.

Two days ago, Lara Foxleigh tossed three gold euros into the Trevi Fountain. Now, she is caring for a cranky old man and living in a picturesque villa, ...half a world away from her home and the concerns of her loving family.

Soon, it seems as if those wishes she made in Rome just might be coming true, and she may even be able to help heal a fifteen-year-old tragedy.

Until Lara's past threatens to destroy everything she loves...

Three Gold Coins is a masterfully written celebration of food, family, triumph over adversity, and love - a deliciously imperfect life.

ISBN:
9781925266146
Category:
Fiction
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
21-03-2018
Language:
English
Publisher:
ALLEN & UNWIN
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
400
Dimensions (mm):
234x153mm
Josephine Moon

Josephine Moon's first novel, The Tea Chest (2014), delighted readers with its strong heroine and enchanting story and was a bestseller both in Australia and overseas.

Her second novel, The Chocolate Promise (2015), was a love-story with a difference set in luscious Provence and rural Tasmania and was also a bestseller. The Beekeeper's Secret (2016), a story of family and the happiness, guilt and grief that can lie within them, was her third novel.

Three Gold Coins, a captivating novel of families, food, adversity, hope and love, is her fourth novel. Josephine lives with her husband, son and her horses, dogs, chickens, goats and cats on acreage in Queensland.

Please order this title before midnight December 13th for your best chance of Christmas delivery. Orders for this title placed after December 13th may arrive in the new year.

This item is in stock at our Sydney warehouse and you can expect to receive your order in 4 working days or less for most Australian capitals. We send it to you via the Australia Post eParcel service, which includes online tracking.

Please check below to see indicative delivery timeframes for your area. Please allow extra time during peak holiday periods.

Delivered to:

NSW Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
NSW Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
VIC & SA Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
VIC & SA Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Metro: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Regional: 8 - 14 working days.
TAS: 3 - 5 working days.
WA Metro: 5 - 7 working days.
WA Regional: 6 - 9 working days.
NT Metro: 6 - 8 working days.
NT Regional: 8 - 14 working days.

This item can also be shipped via express post. If all the items in your cart list "In-Stock 2-4 days" then you can select for your order to be shipped via Express Post. Your order will be shipped the next business day, and delivery will be the following business day, if you are within Australia Post's Next Day Delivery Network.

This includes:

NSW - Sydney, Gosford, Newcastle, Wollongong.
VIC - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo.
ACT - Canberra.
SA - Adelaide.
QLD - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast.
TAS - Hobart, Launceston.
WA - Perth CBD postcode 6000 only.
NT - Express Post is not available.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

5 / 5 (1 Ratings)
  • another marvellous read from a talented author.

    by on

    “The recipes she saw in these books made her hungry. But it wasn’t just a hunger for food. It was a hunger for connection, love, family. Putting food on the table was a great act of love… Food and family went hand in hand. Bonding together over meals. She ran her palm over the matte texture of the pages in front of her. Food connected people all over the world, in every city and village and home. Samuel had lost his feasts and his family. She wanted to get them back for him, somehow.”

    Three Gold Coins is the fourth novel by Australian author, Josephine Moon. Leaving both her employer and her family in the lurch, Lara Foxleigh has fled to Italy. A chance encounter at the famed Trevi Fountain in Rome on the day of her arrival sees her driving an elderly man to Tuscany, where she takes a temporary job as his carer. Cooking, helping with activities of daily living, shopping, cleaning and even gardening, yes, she can manage all that. Putting up with Samuel’s grumpy moods, fine. Milking goats? That, she had not ever in her life, expected to be doing!

    Old Samuel Baker’s great-nephew, the rather gorgeous Matteo helps out where he can, although he works on a goat farm and has cheese-making to attend to. But Lara soon finds herself fairly capably tending Meg and Willow, milking them and even making cheese from their milk. She is intrigued by Samuel’s solitary existence, though. Why, except for Matteo’s visits, is he all alone?

    Meanwhile, her mum, Eliza, her sister Sunny and the kids, Daisy and Hudson get by at home. They are pleased that Lara is safe and that she is coping, physically and mentally. But all is not well in Brisbane: a dangerous figure from Lara’s past seems determined to make trouble, once again.

    Moon’s fourth novel gives the reader a believable plot and characters that are easy to like and care for. The story touches on several forms of mental Illness including bipolar disorder and depression, as well as the stigma attached to those and to suicide. Characters have to deal with psychological abuse and the resultant self-blame; family law surrounding custody rights, and how weak laws force people to act outside them; how pride and miscommunication can estrange family members; and survivor guilt.

    But there is also a good dose of positivity: love and loyalty, friendship and forgiveness, sweet kids and cute goats. This is not a book to read on an empty stomach: Moon’s descriptions of cheeses and all that delicious Italian food will surely have readers salivating. And travel agents selling holidays to Tuscany will be grateful for the marvellous job Moon has done of selling the region’s attractions. Moon’s extensive research is apparent on every page. This is another marvellous read from a talented author. It may be Moon’s best yet.
    Quote from an uncorrected proof copy won from Allen & Unwin.

You can find this item in: