Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
Vagabonds

Vagabonds

An American Fantasy

by Darcy Pattison
Paperback
Publication Date: 15/11/2013
RRP  $21.99 $20.75
STRANGERS IN THE LAND

Galen, the nine-banded armadillo, must accept the Tex, the ambitious outsider, as leader of the search for the fabled Faralone Falls, a place they can finally call home. But on the frontier, survival is the only thing that matters. Follow the armadillos on this epic quest for a home. An Epic Quest Across a Dangerous Frontier

In the tradition of Warriors, Seekers, or The Guardins of Ga-Hoole comes the American fantasy, VAGABONDS, the sweeping saga of El Garro's armadillo colony, the scouts and pioneers who have always been at the forefront of the migration. Rumors from their original homeland, the jungles far to the south, suggest that El Garro's colony may be nearing the fabled Faralone Falls, where they will find the answer to why they have traveled northward for decades. On the frontier, the armadillos face the unknown. Each step, each decision is uncertain, full of dangers. Galen must find the courage to take the necessary steps, even though he fears the outcome.

A Quest for a Home: An Immigrant's Tale

VAGABONDS is an American fantasy set in the Ozark mountains. Like El Garro's clan, we are a nation of immigrants, people who have known the sacrifice of leaving everything behind in hopes of finding a future and a hope for their families.

Your heart will ache for Galen as he must leave behind his Four sisters.
You'll weep with him when he finds his brother, Rafael, who has been blinded--and yet, he sees.
You'll marvel at the courage and compassion of these endearing vagabonds as they push the very boundaries of their world in search for a home.

Travel for a season with Galen, Corrie, Victor, Blaze and Rafael. Experience the Ozark Mountains in all their glory - an American fantasy.This isn't a fast read; instead, it's a compelling read. Read Vagabonds and follow Galen as he grows into a leader among his people, one worthy of being remembered in ballads.
WHY DID YOU WRITE THIS BOOK?
Once upon a time there was a boy and girl who met in college at the U of A and they found they both enjoyed hiking in the Ozarks. It began a life long love of hiking.People say to write what you know: I was learning about camping and the Ozarks. One day, we went camping at the Steele Creek campground on the Buffalo River, and just at sunset, we saw armadillos digging in the bushes.

I studied armadillos and found that they are an invasive species, coming up from Mexico into the U.S., and had already moved into the Ozarks of southern Missouri. Popular articles in newspapers at the time talked about how surprising it was that armadillos were able to withstand the cold as they moved north, but speculated that they were able to survive by digging deeper holes.






Did you know that armadillos are the only creatures besides humans that have been known to contract leprosy?
Did you know that armadillos are always born as quadruplets? All boys or all girls.
Did you know that when startled armadillos jump straight up? It accounts for most of the road kill you see.

Until finally, I knew enough to put them into a fictionalized story. Now, I wasn't writing what I knew, but what I imagined to be true.

It seemed natural to make it an immigrant's story. These were creatures moving from South America, through Mexico, and into North America. Immigrants. I've always been fascinated with the difficulties faced by immigrants: leaving their home, crossing new lands, learning new languages.
ISBN:
9781629440156
9781629440156
Category:
Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
15-11-2013
Language:
English
Publisher:
Mims House
Country of origin:
United States
Pages:
276
Dimensions (mm):
216x140x15mm
Weight:
0.32kg

This title is in stock with our Australian supplier and arrives at our Sydney warehouse within 10-15 working days of you placing an order.

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Vagabonds.