Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing 2

by Delia Owens
Paperback
Publication Date: 17/01/2019
5/5 Rating 2 Reviews
  $29.99

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say.

Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
ISBN:
9781472154651
9781472154651
Category:
Contemporary fiction
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
17-01-2019
Publisher:
Little, Brown Book Group
Country of origin:
United Kingdom
Pages:
384
Dimensions (mm):
232x152x36mm
Weight:
0.48kg

"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature...Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world"
New York Times Book Review 

"An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader."
Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut."
People

"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver"
Bustle

"A nature-infused romance with a killer twist"
Refinery29

Delia Owens

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others. She currently lives in Idaho.

Click 'Notify Me' to get an email alert when this item becomes available

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

5 / 5 (2 Ratings)
5 stars (2)
4 stars (0)
3 stars (0)
2 stars (0)
1 stars (0)
  • Where the Crawdads Sing.

    by on

    :: Spoiler Alert ::

    Loved reading this book. Couldn’t put it down!.

  • A Southern Thriller

    by on

    Book of the year! I stayed up till 4am to finish this is 1 sitting.

    The main character Kya is incredible she has such a great character arc and you feel everything she feels.

    A tale of survival, coming of age and some good old fashioned who done it murder mystery!