Arthur Machen: The Complete Works

Arthur Machen: The Complete Works

by Arthur Machen

Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe) Publication Date: 07/04/2019


17 Complete Works of Arthur Machen


Far Off Things

Far off Things The Confessions of A Literary Man

Mystery In Four Volumes

The Angels of Mons

The Great God Pan

The Great Return

The Hill of Dreams

The House of Souls

The Islington Mystery

The Novel of the Black Seal

The Novel of the White Powder

The Red Hand

The Secret Glory

The Shining Pyramid

The Terror

The Three Impostors

The White People


Crime & mystery
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
Arthur Machen

Arthur Machen (Arthur Llewelyn Jones), a Welsh author of supernatural, fantasy, and horror fiction, was born on March 3, 1863. He grew up in Caerleon, Monmouthshire, and attended boarding school at Hereford Cathedral School.

He moved to London in 1881 and worked as a journalist, children's tutor, and publisher's clerk, finding time to write at night. By 1894, Machen had his first major success.

The Great God Pan was published by John Lane, and despite widespread criticism for its sexual and horrific content, it sold well and went into a second edition.

In the 1920s Machen's work became immensely popular in the United States, but Machen experienced increasing poverty; he was saved in 1931 by receiving a Civil List pension from the British government. Arthur Machen died on March 30, 1947.

This item is delivered digitally

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Arthur Machen: The Complete Works.