The Thing about Jellyfish

The Thing about Jellyfish

by Ali Benjamin and Ali Benjamin

Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe) Publication Date: 25/08/2015

  $9.99

"The writing is stunning and so magical." Reese Witherspoon


It's peculiar how no-words can be better than words. How silence can say more than noise, or a person's absence can occupy even more space than their presence did.


Suzy is 12 when her best friend, Franny, drowns one summer at the beach. It takes two days for the news to reach Suzy, and it's not something that she can accept: Franny has always been a strong swimmer, from the day they met in swim class when they were just 5. How can someone all of a sudden, just no longer be there?


Suzy realizes that they must have got it wrong: Franny didn't just drown - she was stung by a poisonous jellyfish. This makes a lot more sense to Suzy's logical mind than a random drowning - cause: a jellyfish sting; effect: death.


Suzy's journey to acceptance is quiet - she resolves to either say something important, or say nothing at all. But it's also bursting with bittersweet humour, heart-breaking honesty, big ideas and small details.


Perfect for fans of Wonder, Counting By 7s and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece.


PRAISE FOR THE THING ABOUT JELLYFISH


"This is a heartbreakingly touching debut about friendship, loss, fear and love that is funny,

clever and beautifully written." Daily Mail


"An accomplished debut that skillfully charts the pressure growing up puts on friendships" The Bookseller

ISBN:
9781743539873
9781743539873
Category:
General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
25-08-2015
Language:
English
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan UK

This item is delivered digitally

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Thing about Jellyfish.