The Underwater Ballroom Society

The Underwater Ballroom Society

by Tiffany TrentIona Datt Sharma Stephanie Burgis and others

Publication Date: 30/04/2018


Would you rather dance beneath the waves or hide your smuggled magic there? Welcome to a world of sparkling adult fantasy and science fiction stories edited by Stephanie Burgis and Tiffany Trent and featuring underwater ballrooms of one sort or another, from a 1930s ballroom to a Martian hotel to a grand rock 'n roll ball held in the heart of Faery itself.

"From the first page, I knew I was in good hands. This is my kind of fantasy -- magic, adventure, and gorgeous writing. The Underwater Ballroom Society is the kind of fantasy that got me into reading fantasy."

- Patrice Sarath, Author of The Sisters Mederos

Stories in this anthology:

Ysabeau S. Wilce, "The Queen of Life"

Y.S. Lee, "Twelve Sisters"

Iona Datt Sharma, "Penhallow Amid Passing Things"

Tiffany Trent, "Mermaids, Singing"

Jenny Moss, "A Brand New Thing"

Cassandra Khaw, "Four Revelations from the Rusalka Ball"

Stephanie Burgis, "Spellswept"

Laura Anne Gilman, "The River Always Wins"

Shveta Thakrar, "The Amethyst Deceiver"

Patrick Samphire, "A Spy in the Deep"

”I absolutely adore this collection … a wonderful, changeable mix of genres, storytelling styles, characters and vibes; I love the central thread of the underwater ballroom – never overtly stressed but always present – and how every author has turned that into something with such a different tone and place. The anthology is wonderful, and well worth a read!” - Kate Coe at Writing & Coe

"This anthology is an excellent collection of stories and all of them are well worth your time." - Michele at The Monday Review

Fantasy romance
Publication Date:
Five Fathoms Press
Stephanie Burgis

Stephanie Burgis is a dual citizen of the US and the UK and lives in South Wales (land of dragons) with her husband, the author Patrick Samphire, and their children.

The Storyteller's Secret is Stephanie's second novel for Bloombsury, following The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart.

Laura Anne Gilman

Laura Anne Gilman is the author of the Locus bestsellers Silver on the Road and The Cold Eye, the popular Cosa Nostradamus books (the Retrievers and Paranormal Scene Investigations urban fantasy series), the Nebula award-nominated The Vineart War trilogy. Her first story collection is Dragon Virus, and she continues to write and sell short fiction in a variety of genres.

This item is delivered digitally

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Underwater Ballroom Society.

You can find this item in: