The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

by Alastair GunnAbraham Elder William Henry Farn and others
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date: 14/04/2020

Wimbourne Books presents the fourteenth in a series of rare or out-of-print ghost stories from Victorian authors. With an introduction by author Alastair Gunn, Volume 14 contains stories published in the first half of the Victorian age (1837 to 1869). Readers new to this genre will discover its pleasures; the Victorian quaintness, the sometimes shocking difference in social norms, the almost comical politeness and structured etiquette, the archaic and precise language, but mostly the Victorians’ skill at stoking our fears and trepidations, our insecurities and doubts. Even if you are already an aficionado of the ghostly tale there is much within these pages to interest you. Wait until the dark of the snowy night, lock the doors, shutter the windows, light the fire, sit with your back to the wall and bury yourself in the Victorian macabre. Try not to let the creaking floorboards, the distant howl of a dog, the chill breeze that caresses the candle, the shadows in the far recesses of your room, disturb your concentration.

Includes the stories; The Blind Ghost-Seer (1839) – Abraham Elder; The Souls of the Drowned (1841) – William Henry Farn; The Haunted House in Yorkshire (1845) – Dudley Costello; The Watcher (1847) – Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu; Le Femme Noir (1848) – Anna Maria Hall; The Ghost of the Late Mr. James Barber (1850) – William Henry Wills; The Punishment of Gina Montani (1851) – Ellen Wood; The Lumber-Room (1851) – Mary Ann Bird; M. Anastasius (1855) – Dinah Maria Mulock; A Night in a Cathedral (1856) – William Fulford; The Haunted Ship (1857) – Anne Sarah Bushby; A Ghost Story (1858) – Ada Trevanion; The Lady in the Mirror (1858) – George MacDonald; The Girl with the Golden Hair (1860) – Eliza Craven Green; The Ghost of Gashleigh Court (1863) – George Augustus Sala; The Story of the House in Garden Reach (1864) – Frances Browne; The Underground Ghost (1864) – John Berwick Harwood; The Spectral Rout (1865) – Frances Power Cobbe; No. 1 Branch Line: The Signalman (1866) – Charles Dickens; The Scene-Painter’s Wife (1869) – Mary Elizabeth Braddon.

Short stories
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
Wimbourne Books
Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Sheridan Le Fanu (1814-1873) was an Irish writer of gothic tales, mystery novels and ghost stories, most famous for his novel Uncle Silas. Carmilla was first published in 1872 and has served as an inspiration countless books, from Bram Stoker's Dracula and Henry James' The Turn of the Screw to Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles, and a slew of films such as Hammer Horror's Karnstein Trilogy.

Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens was born in 1812 and became the most popular novelist of the Victorian era.

A prolific writer, he published more than a dozen novels in his lifetime, including Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and Hard Times, most of which have been adapted many times over for radio, stage and screen.

Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1835-1915) has been called the 'Queen of Sensation' for her exceedingly popular sensational novels, including Lady Audley's Secret.

She also wrote plays; contributed essays, short stories and poems to Punch and The World; and edited two literary magazines, Temple Bar and Belgravia.

This item is delivered digitally

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories.