The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

by Alastair GunnEliza Lynn Linton Mary E. Penn and others

Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe) Publication Date: 06/11/2017


Twenty ghostly tales from the supernatural masters of the Victorian age. Wimbourne Books presents the sixth in a series of rare or out-of-print ghost stories from Victorian authors. With an introduction by author Alastair Gunn, Volume 6 in the series spans the years 1854 to 1901 and includes stories from a wide range of female authors, from both sides of the Atlantic. Includes tales by Ellen Wood, Mary Elizabeth Braddon and Margaret Oliphant. Readers new to this genre will discover its pleasures; the Victorian quaintness, the sometimes shocking difference in social norms, the almost comical politeness and structured etiquette, the archaic and precise language, but mostly the Victorians’ skill at stoking our fears and trepidations, our insecurities and doubts. Even if you are already an aficionado of the ghostly tale there is much within these pages to interest you. Wait until the dark of the stormy night arrives, lock the doors, shutter the windows, light the fire, sit with your back to the wall and bury yourself in the Victorian macabre. Try not to let the creaking floorboards, the distant howl of a dog, the chill breeze that caresses the candle, the shadows in the far recesses of your room, disturb your concentration.

Includes the stories; The Sixth Poor Traveller (1854) – Eliza Lynn Linton; The Italian’s Story (1859) – Catherine Crowe; Bring Me a Light! (1861) – Jane Margaret Hooper; The Eleventh of March (1863) – Amelia B. Edwards; The Haunted Grange (1864) – Frances Browne; The Ghost At The Rath (1866) – Rosa Mulholland; The Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth (1868) – Rhoda Broughton; Reality, or Delusion? (1868) – Ellen Wood; Lady Farquar’s Old Lady (1873) – Mary Louisa Molesworth; The Pride of the Corbyns (1875) – Isabella Banks; At Ravenholme Junction (1876) – Mary E. Penn; The Shadow In the Corner (1879) – Mary Elizabeth Braddon; The Open Door (1882) – Margaret Oliphant; The Invisible Tenants of Rushmere (1883) – Florence Marryat; The Last of Squire Ennismore (1888) – Charlotte Riddell; Let Loose (1890) – Mary Cholmondeley; The Prior’s Cell: A Ghost Story (1892) – Darley Dale; The Shadow On the Blind (1894) – Louisa Baldwin; The Tyburn Ghost (1896) – Wilhelmina FitzClarence; The Summoning of Arnold (1901) – Alice Perrin.

Horror & ghost stories
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
Wimbourne Books
Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1835-1915) has been called the 'Queen of Sensation' for her exceedingly popular sensational novels, including Lady Audley's Secret.

She also wrote plays; contributed essays, short stories and poems to Punch and The World; and edited two literary magazines, Temple Bar and Belgravia.

This item is delivered digitally

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories.