The Young Lion

The Young Lion

by Blanche d'Alpuget

Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe) Publication Date: 01/12/2018

  $12.99

The first book in the Birth of the Plantagenets series is sumptuous, rich historical fiction for fans of Wolf Hall and Game of Thrones.


Queen Eleanor of France, said to be the most beautiful woman in Europe, has not been able to give birth to an heir. A strategic liaison with Geoffrey the Handsome, the virile and charming Duke of Normandy, could remedy that – or lead to her downfall and Geoffrey's death.


What begins with cool calculation becomes a passionate affair. Despite his love for Eleanor, however, Geoffrey has larger plans: to help his warrior son, Henry, seize the English throne.


When Henry saves his father from discovery and execution by the French, he falls foul of Eleanor - and madly in love with her Byzantine maid. Should he become King of England, however, this dazzling woman will never be acceptable as his queen.


These intertwined relationships - heated, forbidden and perilous - are the heart of a vivid story of ambition, vengeance and political intrigue set in the glorious flowering of troubadour culture, mysticism and learning that is twelfth-century France.

ISBN:
9781925384765
9781925384765
Category:
Historical fiction
Format:
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
01-12-2018
Language:
English
Publisher:
Ventura Press
Blanche d'Alpuget

Blanche d'Alpuget is the author of seven books, including four novels—Monkeys in the Dark (1980), Turtle Beach (1981), Winter in Jerusalem (1986) and White Eye (1993).

These works won a number of literary prizes including the PEN Golden Jublilee Award, The Age Novel of the Year Award, the South Australian Premier's Award and the Australasian Prize for Commonwealth Literature. d'Alpuget's Mediator: A Biography of Sir Richard Kirby was published in 1977 to critical acclaim.

This item is delivered digitally

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Young Lion.