Free shipping on orders over $99
Black Silk and Sympathy

Black Silk and Sympathy

The Captivating First Novel in a New Historical Fiction Series from the Popular Bestselling Author of from the ASHES, for Fans of Jackie French, Tea Cooper and Kirsty Manning

by Deborah Challinor
Paperback
Publication Date: 03/04/2024

Share This Book:

17%
OFF
RRP  $32.99

RRP means 'Recommended Retail Price' and is the price our supplier recommends to retailers that the product be offered for sale. It does not necessarily mean the product has been offered or sold at the RRP by us or anyone else.

$27.50

A dazzling new series from bestselling historical fiction author Deborah Challinor, exploring the fascinating world of Victorian funeral customs and featuring Sydney's first female undertaker.

'Men have been undertakers for hundreds of years. Not women, men. You don't belong.'

Sydney, 1865. Seventeen-year-old Tatiana Caldwell travels from London to make a new life. Her path leads her to Crowe Funeral Services, where she apprentices under the tutelage of Titus Crowe, the enigmatic owner.

Tatty finds herself drawn to the fascinating conventions of the funeral trade - plumed horses and processions, mutes and mortuary trains, flowers and finery - as well as the more visceral new practice of embalming. Soon she marries, and after the sudden death of her husband, Titus, she becomes Sydney's first female undertaker.

Her hard-won stability is shattered when Elias Nuttall, a ruthless rival in the funeral trade, accuses Tatty of murdering her husband. Facing public scorn and legal peril, Tatty gathers an unlikely band of allies in a battle to clear her name.

Black Silk and Sympathy is a riveting and realistic journey through the front parlours and dark alleys of 1860s Sydney, from the Botanic Gardens in the morning to the cemetery at midnight..

'In this expertly crafted novel, Challinor delivers a captivating tale of resilience, reinvention and determination ... [with] a thrilling twist' Books+Publishing

Praise for Deborah Challinor:

'A master storyteller' Better Reading

'Perfectly blends fact and fiction' NZ Herald

ISBN:
9781460763667
9781460763667
Category:
Historical romance
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
03-04-2024
Language:
English
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers Australia
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
384
Dimensions (mm):
235x155x25mm
Weight:
0.4kg
Deborah Challinor

Deborah Challinor has a PhD in history and is the author of thirteen bestselling novels, including the Children of War series, the Convict Girls series and the titles in the Smuggler's Wife series.

She has also written one young adult novel and two non-fiction books. She lives in New Zealand with her husband.

This item is In Stock in our Sydney warehouse and should be sent from our warehouse within 1-2 working days.

Once sent we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock'.

Reviews

Be the first to review Black Silk and Sympathy.