Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
Cherry Beach

Cherry Beach

by Laura McPhee-Browne

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 04/02/2020

20%
OFF
RRP  $29.99 $24.25

A hypnotic and absorbing debut novel from an extraordinary new talent-a must-read for fans of Sally Rooney, Jennifer Down, Siri Hustvedt and Andre Aciman (Call Me By Your Name).

We arrived on a Tuesday, I can remember that. I can remember Hetty's hand in mine as we moved slowly down the steps of the escalator, as if standing completely still would have been harder than moving.

Hetty and Ness, best friends since childhood, have left suburban Melbourne for the first time to live abroad. Hetty is charming and captivating, the life of the party. Ness is a wallflower, hopelessly in love with her. In the student quarter of Toronto, the pair take a room in a share house full of self-assured creatives. Hetty disappears into barkeeping work and a whirlwind nightlife, while Ness drifts aimlessly.

But when Ness finds Hope one day in the art gallery, an intense affair develops. There are new friends, too, and a job - at last her life starts to make some sense. And Hetty's starts spectacularly to fall apart, in a mess of bad drugs and bad men.

As winter freezes the lakeside city, the dark undercurrents of Hetty's character-abusive relationships, a dangerous obsession with bodies of water-become ever stronger. Ness may lose the person she loves more than anyone else in the world.

Beautifully written and intimate, Cherry Beach is a revelatory story of friendship and desire.

ISBN:
9781922268501
9781922268501
Category:
Contemporary fiction
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
04-02-2020
Publisher:
Text Publishing
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
256
Dimensions (mm):
232x154x18mm
Weight:
0.31kg
Laura McPhee-Browne

Laura McPhee-Browne is a writer and social worker from Melbourne. Her short stories have appeared in Meanjin, Island, Overland, Kill Your Darlings, Seizure, Tincture Journal and Scum Mag. In 2016 she was highly commended in the Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction and the Hope Prize. Laura is a fiction editor for the literary magazine Verity La.

This title is in stock with our Australian supplier and arrives at our Sydney warehouse within 10 working days of you placing an order.

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Cherry Beach.