Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
Quicksand

Quicksand

A Novel

by Steve Toltz
Paperback
Publication Date: 05/04/2016
  $39.25
This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is "a delightful literary novel...extraordinarily imaginative" (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz--for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace.

Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.

"Steve Toltz channels a poet's delight in crafting the perfect phrase on every highly quotable page" (Publishers Weekly). With the same originality, brilliance, and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world, Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about love, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity that "confounds and astonishes in equal measure, often on the same page...A tour de force" (Australian Book Review).
ISBN:
9781476797830
9781476797830
Category:
Fiction
Format:
Paperback
Publication Date:
05-04-2016
Language:
English
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Country of origin:
United States
Dimensions (mm):
212.72x139.7x27.94mm
Weight:
0.33kg

This title is in stock with our US supplier and is sent from our Sydney warehouse within 10 working days of you placing an order.  

Once received into our warehouse we will despatch it to you with a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review Quicksand.