Free Shipping on Order Over $60
AfterPay Available
NEED IT BY CHRISTMAS?
The Good Son

The Good Son

A Story from the First World War, Told in Miniature

by Pierre-Jacques OberJules Ober and Felicity Coonan
Hardback
Publication Date: 01/06/2019
34%
OFF
RRP  $34.99 $23.35

The Good Son wins 1st Prize at the Prix Sorcières 2019, France’s most prestigious award for children’s books A young WWI soldier's unauthorized visit home has dire consequences in a haunting story reimagined in miniature tableaux.

About one hundred years ago, the whole world went to war. The war was supposed to last months. It lasted years.

It is Christmastime, 1914, and World War I rages. A young French soldier named Pierre had quietly left his regiment to visit his family for two days, and when he returned, he was imprisoned. Now he faces execution for desertion, and as he waits in isolation, he meditates on big questions: the nature of patriotism, the horrors of war, the joys of friendship, the love of family, and how even in times of danger, there is a whole world inside every one of us.

And how sometimes that world is the only refuge. Its publication coinciding with the centennial of the signing of the Treaty of Versailles, this moving and sparely narrated story, based on true events, is reenacted in fascinating miniature scenes that convey the emotional complexity of the tale. Notes from the creators explore the innovative process and their personal connection to the story.

  • A book in the vein of Art Spiegleman's Maus and Shaun Tan's The Arrival, which encourages young people to grapple with the difficult truths of humanity. 
  • Publishing at the centennial of the Treaty of Versailles, the peace treaty signed at the conclusion of World War 1. 
  • Art is photographs of intricately detailed miniatures paired with an emotionally complex, spare story – this book is the ultimate high-low read. And it haunts you long after you finish it.
ISBN:
9781536204827
9781536204827
Category:
Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)
Format:
Hardback
Publication Date:
01-06-2019
Publisher:
Candlewick Press,U.S.
Country of origin:
United States
Pages:
104
Dimensions (mm):
270x230x18mm
Weight:
0.73kg
Pierre-Jacques Ober

Pierre-Jacques Ober was born in a military family but broke with family tradition in his preference for philosophy over war.

He lives with his wife, Australian photographer Jules Ober, in the rain forest of Australia.

Jules Ober

Jules Ober is a self-taught photographer and designer as well as a multimedia producer, teacher of digital imagery, and website creator.

She lives in Australia with her husband, Pierre-Jacques Ober.

This item is In Stock in our Sydney warehouse and typically sent from our warehouse within 2 - 3 working days.

Once sent we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

Please check the estimated delivery times below for your region, for after your order is despatched from our warehouse:

ACT Metro  2 working days

NSW Metro  2 working days

NSW Rural  2 - 3 working days

NSW Remote  2 - 5 working days

NT Metro  3 - 6 working days

NT Remote  4 - 10 working days

QLD Metro  2 - 4 working days

QLD Rural  2 - 5 working days

QLD Remote  2 - 7 working days

SA Metro  2 - 5 working days

SA Rural  3 - 6 working days

SA Remote  3 - 7 working days

TAS Metro  3 - 6 working days

TAS Rural  3 - 6 working days

VIC Metro  2 - 3 working days

VIC Rural  2 - 4 working days

VIC Remote  2 - 5 working days

WA Metro  3 - 6 working days

WA Rural  4 - 8 working days

WA Remote  4 - 12 working days

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock'.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Good Son.