The Lost Man

The Lost Man 7

by Jane Harper

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 23/10/2018

5/5 Rating 7 Reviews
22%
OFF
RRP  $32.99 $25.95

From the international bestselling author of The Dry and Force of Nature.

The man lay still in the centre of a dusty grave under a monstrous sky.

Two brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland.

They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron.

The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

ISBN:
9781743549100
9781743549100
Category:
Crime & Mystery
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
23-10-2018
Pages:
384
Dimensions (mm):
233x154mm
Weight:
0.3kg
Jane Harper

Jane Harper was born in Manchester in the UK, and moved to Australia with her family at age eight. She spent six years in Boronia, Victoria, and during that time gained Australian citizenship. Returning to the UK with her family as a teenager, she lived in Hampshire before studying English and History at the University of Kent in Canterbury.

On graduating, she completed a journalism entry qualification and got her first reporting job as a trainee on the Darlington & Stockton Times in County Durham. Jane worked for several years as a senior news journalist for the Hull Daily Mail, before moving back to Australia in 2008. She worked first on the Geelong Advertiser, and in 2011 took up a role with the Herald Sun in Melbourne.

In 2014, Jane submitted a short story which was one of 12 chosen for the Big Issue's annual Fiction Edition. That inspired her to pursue creative writing more seriously, and that year she applied for the Curtis Brown Creative online 12-week novel writing course. She was accepted with a submission for the book that would become The Dry. Jane lives in St Kilda with her husband and daughter.

This item is in stock in our Sydney warehouse and typically delivered to you within 4 working days for most Australian capitals. 

Once despatched we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

 

An overall delivery time for this item to your address is:

NSW Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
NSW Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
VIC & SA Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
VIC & SA Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Metro: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Regional: 8 - 14 working days.
TAS: 3 - 5 working days.
WA Metro: 5 - 7 working days.
WA Regional: 6 - 9 working days.
NT Metro: 6 - 8 working days.
NT Regional: 8 - 14 working days.

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock 2-4 days'. Express Post orders are delivered in two business days to the following locations:

NSW - Sydney, Gosford, Newcastle, Wollongong.
VIC - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo.
ACT - Canberra.
SA - Adelaide.
QLD - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast.
TAS - Hobart, Launceston.
WA - Perth CBD postcode 6000 only.
NT - Express Post is not available.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

5 / 5 (7 Ratings)
5 stars (7)
4 stars (0)
3 stars (0)
2 stars (0)
1 stars (0)
  • Insight into outback.

    by on

    I loved the way this mystery was developed in the outback. I found it gave me a strong sense of life in the outback- physically, socially and emotionally. I really enjoyed this aspect of the novel. Strong character definit9ions and a very interesting plot created a great read.

  • As good as ever

    by on

    I think this book is as good if not better than The Dry. The harsh out back comes to life on the page as do the characters who inhabit it. A vivid read well plotted

  • new Jane Harper fans

    by on

    I purchased 3 "The Lost Man" books for gifts. They loved it. One started reading 6 pm and read through to the final page, went to bed around midnight. No 2 recipient told me, suspenseful, great insight into the rules for life in the outback, could not put it down until finished. That one is going to his neighbour who loves and travels the outback.

View more reviews for The Lost Man