Yes Please

Yes Please 2

by Amy Poehler

Paperback / softback Publication Date: 01/11/2014

3/5 Rating 2 Reviews
18%
OFF
RRP  $32.99 $27.35
From the Golden Globe award-winning actress comes the #1 New York Times bestseller.

"Required reading for all young women" Best Books of 2014, Huffington Post

A memoir in essays in the tradition of Tina Fey's Bossypants and Caitlin Moran's How To Be a Woman, YES PLEASE is a hilarious collection of stories, thoughts, ideas, haikus and words-to-live-by drawn from the life and mind of acclaimed actress, writer and comedian Amy Poehler.

YES PLEASE finds Amy riffing on sex, love, family, friendship and plastic surgery, and is chock-full of great jokes and sage advice (the useful kind, not the annoying kind you didn't ask for).

Fans of Lena Dunham's Not That Kind of Girl, Caitlin Moran's How to Be a Woman, and Tina Fey's Bossypants will love Yes Please.
ISBN:
9781743534151
9781743534151
Category:
Autobiography: arts & entertainment
Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
01-11-2014
Publisher:
Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of origin:
Australia
Pages:
352
Dimensions (mm):
228x155x20mm
Weight:
0.74kg
Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler is a Golden Globe and Emmy award-winning actress. Seven seasons on Saturday Night Live, the lead role in hit show Parks and Recreation, and star turns in films Blades of Glory, Baby Mama and Sisters have made her one of the world's most beloved entertainers.

She lives in New York and Los Angeles with her two sons.

This item is in stock in our Sydney warehouse and typically delivered to you within 4 working days for most Australian capitals. 

Once despatched we will send you a Shipping Notification which includes online tracking.

 

An overall delivery time for this item to your address is:

NSW Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
NSW Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
VIC & SA Metro: 2 - 4 working days.
VIC & SA Regional: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Metro: 3 - 5 working days.
QLD Regional: 8 - 14 working days.
TAS: 3 - 5 working days.
WA Metro: 5 - 7 working days.
WA Regional: 6 - 9 working days.
NT Metro: 6 - 8 working days.
NT Regional: 8 - 14 working days.

 

Express Post is available if ALL items in your Shopping Cart are listed as 'In Stock 2-4 days'. Express Post orders are delivered in two business days to the following locations:

NSW - Sydney, Gosford, Newcastle, Wollongong.
VIC - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo.
ACT - Canberra.
SA - Adelaide.
QLD - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast.
TAS - Hobart, Launceston.
WA - Perth CBD postcode 6000 only.
NT - Express Post is not available.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3 / 5 (2 Ratings)
5 stars (0)
4 stars (1)
3 stars (0)
2 stars (1)
1 stars (0)
  • Yes Please

    by on

    By far one of the best decisions I have made in 2015 is picking up a copy of Yes Please by Amy Poehler.

    What an absolutely incredible woman Amy Poehler is. And what an incredible book she has written. Not only does Amy speak in an engaging, hilarious, and often extremely truthful way throughout the novel, but in the audiobook version she brings in close friends to help narrate the story for her which definitely adds to the book.

    Amy didn’t stick solely to comedy in this book (which was expected) and instead offered real and honest stories about her life so far. She owned up to past mistakes she’d made and told hilarious antidotes to subjects that are often considered serious and inappropriate to talk (let alone write) about. She included advice and essays, lists and even added in recordings from her other works such as SNL and Parks and Recreation (in the audiobook). It was really all the little things put together that made this reading experience truly enjoyable.

    I picked up both the physical and audiobook version of this, and trust me when I say I highly recommend it. Reading along with Amy Poehler was such a great experience. And if you were only to pick up the audiobook, you'd miss out on so many great pictures that it'd be a shame.

    Do yourself a favour and read this immediately.

    “I think if you can dance and be free and not embarrassed you can rule the world.“ - Amy Poehler, Yes Please.

  • Yes Please

    by on

    I can understand how a comedian may want to break free of the mold and be able to do something creative where laughs aren’t expected. We’ve seen Jim Carrey do it, but it feels weird and wrong when your comedic favourites aren’t delivering the laugh’s you’ve grown accustomed to expecting.

    Sure, there’s times where comedians should be normal people, when they are out and about going about their daily life, they shouldn’t have to worry about being funny. But I did expect that in a memoir from Amy Poehler, I’d be getting some laughs.

    I certainly blame Tina Few for this. “Bossypants” was hilarious. And as part of the dynamic duo, I leapt into this expecting the same sassy insights that Tina gave readers into her life.

    Going in, I couldn’t pick a favourite. Both are smart and successful women who have accomplished great things. Finishing “Yes Please” has made it very clear that I’m on the Fey side of things.

    “Yes Please” isn’t bad, it’s just not hitting the mark for me. Poehler complains about writing a book. Considering she plays it straight for most of the novel, I can only guess that she’s playing her frustrations of writing the book straight as well, which poses the question: why write it then? It’s not as insightful as you’d like. She doesn’t talk about the struggles of becoming successful, what obstacles she came across, how she disagreed with other creative or what it was like to make tough life decisions. She glosses over all of this. The main aspect of her novel is focused on her time in the “Upright Citizens Brigade” which feels like a particularly niche point of your life to talk about. Unless you’re a hardcore comedy (and Poheler) buff who is familiar with Chicago, you’re unlikely to find this riveting reading.

    Poehler’s personality comes across as aloof and secretive, and perhaps a little ambivalent towards what her readers would like to know. This is certainly not what you’d expect from the humour and warmth you find in her various performances. Which begs the question: Why did she write this book if she wasn’t going to keep it in sync with her public persona? Why deviate away so far from the norm?

    There’s nothing shocking or suprising in this book. Poehler shares significantly less than what you’d anticipate from her.

    Some of the chapters feel like repeats – The story of her parents meeting comes up few times and at one point I thought I had re-read a chapter but nope, it was another chapter on the same thing she’d already written about.

    The main themes of the book seem to be “working when pregnant” “meeting /working with famous people” and “distracting you with negligible information and avoiding the topics you really want to know about it”. If you’re looking for vulnerability and an insight into a strong woman’s drive and struggles, this won’t deliver what you’re looking for.

    The memoir is strangely bereft of information about the most popular work that Poehler has worked on (Mean Girls, Parks & Rec, SNL etc). There must be fantastic anecdotes about the struggles of getting these projects off the ground, how to push the comedic line, winning over studio execs, but Poehler doesn’t share these with her readers.

    I finished the book with less knowledge about Poehler than when I picked up the book. She didn’t win me over with this one. My review in two words? “No thanks!”