The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

by H. B. Marriott WatsonCharles Dickens Alastair Gunn and others

Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe) Publication Date: 28/12/2016


Twenty Christmas ghost stories from the supernatural masters of the Victorian age. Wimbourne Books presents the second in a series of rare or out-of-print ghost stories from Victorian authors. With an introduction by author Alastair Gunn, Volume 2 in the series spans the years 1836 to 1899, contains ghost stories set at or around Christmas, and includes stories from a wide range of authors including Charles Dickens, Amelia B. Edwards and J. S. Le Fanu. Readers new to this genre will discover its pleasures; the Victorian quaintness, the sometimes shocking difference in social norms, the almost comical politeness and structured etiquette, the archaic and precise language, but mostly the Victorians’ skill at stoking our fears and trepidations, our insecurities and doubts. Even if you are already an aficionado of the ghostly tale there is much within these pages to interest you. Wait until the dark of the snowy night (preferably on Christmas Eve), lock the doors, shutter the windows, light the fire, sit with your back to the wall and bury yourself in the Victorian macabre. Try not to let the creaking floorboards, the distant howl of a dog, the chill breeze that caresses the candle, the shadows in the far recesses of your room, disturb your concentration.

Includes the stories; A Christmas Tree (1850) – Charles Dickens; The Story of the Goblins Who Stole a Sexton (1836) – Charles Dickens; The Ghost: A Christmas Story (1856) – William D. O’Connor; The Oxford Ghost (1858) – James Hain Friswell; Maese Pérez, the Organist (1861) – Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer; The North Mail (1864) – Amelia B. Edwards; The Abbot's Ghost, or Maurice Treherne's Temptation (1867) – Louisa May Alcott; Catherine’s Quest (1868) – J. Sheridan Le Fanu; The Ghost’s Summons (1868) – Ada Buisson; At Chrighton Abbey (1871) – Mary Elizabeth Braddon; The Ghosts at Grantley (1875) – Leonard Kip; Christmas Eve on a Haunted Hulk (1889) – Frank Cowper; The Water Ghost of Harrowby Hall (1891) – John Kendrick Bangs; Unexplained (1891) – Letitia McClintock; A Gruesome Joke (1891) – Elizabeth Burgoyne Corbett; The Brazen Cross (1893) – H. B. Marriott Watson; The Real and the Counterfeit (1895) – Louisa Baldwin; The Vanishing House (1898) – Bernard Capes; The Great Staircase at Landover Hall (1998) – Frank R. Stockton; Wolverden Tower (1899) – Grant Allen.

Horror & ghost stories
Epub (Kobo), Epub (Adobe)
Publication Date:
Wimbourne Books
Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens was born in 1812 and became the most popular novelist of the Victorian era.

A prolific writer, he published more than a dozen novels in his lifetime, including Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and Hard Times, most of which have been adapted many times over for radio, stage and screen.

Louisa May Alcott

Louisa May Alcott was born on 29 November 1832 in Pennsylvania, and she grew up with plenty of books to read but seldom enough to eat. Louisa went to work when she was very young as a paid companion and teacher, but she loved writing most of all, and like Jo March she started selling sensational stories in order to help provide financial support for her family.

She worked as a nurse during the American Civil War but the experience made her extremely ill. Little Women was published in 1868 and was based on her life growing up with her three sisters. She followed it with three sequels, Good Wives (1869), Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886) and she also wrote other books for both children and adults. Louisa was also a campaigner for women's rights and the abolition of the slave trade. She died on 6 March 1888.

Bernard Capes

Bernard Edward Joseph Capes (1854-1918) was a prolific Victorian author who published more than 40 books - romances, ghost stories, poetry and history - and won awards in England and America. He is best remembered as an accomplished writer of horror stories in the vein of M.R. James, and has the distinction of writing the first detective novel commissioned and published by Collins - The Skeleton Key in 1919, whose enormous success (8 different editions in 10 years) paved the way for a century of crime books. It was his only crime book, as Capes died in the influenza epidemic on 2 November 1918 before The Skeleton Key was published. A plaque commemorating his life is in Winchester Cathedral, near where he lived.

Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1835-1915) has been called the 'Queen of Sensation' for her exceedingly popular sensational novels, including Lady Audley's Secret.

She also wrote plays; contributed essays, short stories and poems to Punch and The World; and edited two literary magazines, Temple Bar and Belgravia.

This item is delivered digitally

You can find this item in:

Customer Reviews

Be the first to review The Wimbourne Book of Victorian Ghost Stories.