Best of 2016 - Top 10 Young Adult Books

Frankie

Shortlisted for the 2017 Children's Book Council of Australia Awards

Frankie Vega is angry.

Just ask the guy whose nose she broke.

Or the cop investigating the burglary she witnessed, or her cheating ex-boyfriend or her aunt who's tired of giving second chances...

When a kid shows up claiming to be Frankie's half brother, it opens the door to a past she doesn't want to remember.

And when that kid goes missing, the only person willing to help is a boy with stupidly blue eyes ...... and secrets of his own.

Frankie's search for the truth might change her life, or cost her everything.

'Great dialogue and strongly paced. Frankie's a gutsy character with a lot of heart.' - Melina Marchetta

About the Author
Shivaun Plozza's short fiction, flash fiction, essays and poetry have appeared in anthologies and journals including Where the Shoreline Used to Be, Above Water, Text, Vivid and The Victorian Writer. When she's not writing, she works as an editor and manuscript assessor. Frankie is her first novel.

This book features in our Best Books of 2016 (so far)

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
28/03/2016
21%
OFF
RRP  $17.99 $14.35

Girl in Pieces

Charlotte Davis is in pieces.

At eighteen she's already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime.

But she's learned how to forget it. The thick glass of a mason jar cuts deep and the pain washes out the sorrow until there is nothing but calm.

You don't have to think about your father and the bridge. Your best friend who is gone forever. Or your mother who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen to find your way back from the edge.

'poignant and transcendent ... This grittily provocative debut explores the horrors of self-harm and the healing power of artistic expression' - KIRKUS REVIEW 

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
19/09/2016
22%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $15.75

The Bone Sparrow

Subhi's imagination is as big as the ocean and wide as the sky, but his world is much smaller: he's spent his whole life in an immigration detention centre. THE BONE SPARROW is a powerful, heartbreaking, sometimes funny and ultimately uplifting hymn to freedom and love.

Sometimes, at night, the dirt outside turns into a beautiful ocean. As red as the sun and as deep as the sky. I lie in my bed, Queeny's feet pushing up against my cheek, and listen to the waves lapping at the tent.

Subhi is a refugee. Born in an Australian permanent detention centre after his mother fled the violence of a distant homeland, life behind the fences is all he has ever known. But as he grows, his imagination gets bigger too, until it is bursting at the limits of his world. The Night Sea brings him gifts, the faraway whales sing to him, and the birds tell their stories.

The most vivid story of all, however, is the one that arrives one night in the form of Jimmie, a scruffy, impatient girl who appears from the other side of the wires, and brings a notebook written by the mother she lost. Unable to read it, she relies on Subhi to unravel her own family's love songs and tragedies.

Subhi and Jimmie might both find a way to freedom, as their tales unfold. But not until each of them has been braver than ever before.

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
28/06/2016
22%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $15.75

Words in Deep Blue

**WINNER 2017 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Young Adult**

**Winner of the Gold Inky Award for an Australian book 2017**

**Winner 2017 QLD Literary Awards for Young Adult**

Received Honours at the 2017 Children's Book Council of Australia Awards for the Older Readers Category.

Second-hand bookshops are full of mysteries...

This is a love story.

It's the story of Howling Books, where readers write letters to strangers, to lovers, to poets, to words.

It's the story of Henry Jones and Rachel Sweetie. They were best friends once, before Rachel moved to the sea.

Now, she's back, working at the bookstore, grieving for her brother Cal. She's looking for the future in the books people love, and the words that they leave behind.

Sometimes you need the poets

The new novel from the award-winning author of Graffiti Moon.

"Words in Deep Blue is a beautiful examination of grief, love and the power of words. Told in a dual narrative and littered with excerpts from letters and notes left in books at the shop, Cath Crowley has created a sweeping story about self-discovery and growing up, filled with complicated and flawed characters ... this is a love letter to books and bookshops, to the ocean, to falling in love and finding your way." - Bookseller+Publisher

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
30/08/2016
18%
OFF
RRP  $18.99 $15.75

My Sister Rosa

**Winner of the 2018 Adelaide Festival Award for Young Adult Fiction**

Shortlisted for the 2017 Aurealis Awards

'I promise,' said Rosa. 'I won't kill and I won't make anyone else kill.'

I can't see the loophole. Since the guinea pig there's been nothing. Months now without Rosa killing as much as a mosquito.

As far as I know.

Che Taylor has four items on his list: 1. He wants to spar, not just train in the boxing gym. 2. He wants a girlfriend. 3. He wants to go home. 4. He wants to keep Rosa under control.

Che's little sister Rosa is smart, talented, pretty, and so good at deception that Che's convinced she must be a psychopath. She hasn't hurt anyone yet, but he's certain it's just a matter of time. And when their parents move them to New York City, Che longs to return to Sydney and his three best friends. But his first duty is to his sister Rosa, who is playing increasingly complex and disturbing games. Can he protect Rosa from the world - and the world from Rosa?

My Sister Rosa will have you on the edge of your seat from the very first page to the last.

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
27/01/2016
15%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $17.11

The Boundless Sublime

Ruby Jane Galbraith is an ordinary girl seeking peace in the wake of family tragedy.

Her search leads her into a community that seems guided by love. And it's only after she's drawn into its web that she learns its sinister secrets.

Ruby Jane Galbraith is empty. Her family has been torn apart and it's all her fault.

The only thing that makes sense to her is Fox - a gentle new friend who is wise, soulful and clever, yet oddly naive about the ways of the world. He understands what she's going through and he offers her a chance to find peace. Fox belongs to a group called the Institute of the Boundless Sublime - and Ruby can't stay away from him. So she is also drawn into what she discovers is a terrifying, secretive community that is far from the ideal world she expected.

Can Ruby find the courage to escape? Is there any way she can save Fox too? And is there ever an escape from the far-reaching influence of the Institute of the Boundless Sublime?

A gripping YA novel about an ordinary girl who is seduced into a modern-day cult.

'A brilliant, searing trip into the world of cults and brainwashing. Her best book yet.' - Justine Larbalestier

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
27/07/2016
26%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $14.95

Gemina

The exhilarating sequel to the NYT bestselling and award winning Illuminae

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna's social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The saga that began with breakout bestseller Illuminae continues aboard Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of BeiTech’s assault. Hanna is the station commander's pampered daughter, Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station crew one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon, Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia - and possibly in the known universe - is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Featuring guest journal illustrations by bestselling author Marie Lu.

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
26/10/2016
16%
OFF
RRP  $22.99 $19.53

Spontaneous

Spontaneous

 
5/5 Rating 1 Reviews

A novel about growing up... and blowing up.

Mara Carlyle's senior year is going as normally as could be expected, until- wa-bam!-fellow senior Katelyn Ogden explodes during third period pre-calc. Katelyn is the first, but she won't be the last senior to blow up without warning or explanation. With the whole country watching, the FBI soon rolls into Mara's suburban New Jersey hometown and the search is on for answers. Whip-smart and blunt, Mara narrates the end of their world as she knows it while trying to make it to graduation in one piece.

It's an explosive year punctuated by romance, quarantine, lifelong friendship, hallucinogenic mushrooms, bloggers, ice-cream trucks, "Snooze ButtonTM" and the filthiest language you've ever heard from the president of the United States. Aaron Starmer defies every rule in Spontaneous, but beneath the outrageous is a ridiculously funny, super honest, and truly moving exemplar of the absurd and raw truths of being a teenager in the twenty-first century-and the heartache of saying good-bye.

'Aaron Starmer skillfully welds sharp humor, deep loss, and roaring escapades. Truly the smartest and funniest book about spontaneous combustion you will ever read.' - John Green, #1 Bestselling Author of The Fault in Our Stars

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
19/09/2016
15%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $17.11

Crooked Kingdom

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the Carnegie Medal 2017-nominated SIX OF CROWS

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn - and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy - SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING - this novel is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.

Format:
Publication Date:
27/09/2016
  $22.99

The Sidekicks

The Sidekicks

 
5/5 Rating 1 Reviews

The Swimmer. The Rebel. The Nerd.

All Ryan, Harley and Miles had in common was Isaac.

They lived different lives, had different interests and kept different secrets. But they shared the same best friend. They were sidekicks.

And now that Isaac's gone, what does that make them?

Will Kostakis, award-winning author of The First Third, perfectly depicts the pain and pleasure of this teenage world, piecing together three points of view with intricate splendour.

Format:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
29/02/2016
22%
OFF
RRP  $19.99 $15.75

 

More in Kids & Teens

Top 10 Picture Books Top Ten Chapter Books
Top 10 YA Kid's Book Bestseller