Bestselling Fiction Books

Coming Soon Fiction

See More Pre-Order Fiction Books

Featured Review

 
9781784742447
21%
OFF
RRP  $32.99
$25.99

Clock Dance

 

Why Our Staff Love Clock Dance:

Fans of A Spool of Blue Thread and Anne Tyler's other bestselling novels will delight in her latest undertaking. Tender, bittersweet and understated, Clock Dance absorbs readers with its warm and charming prose from page one. Readers following the seemingly placid Willa on her snap-decision journey across the nation to enter a new family life will find that it is full of unexpected pleasures and moving revelations.

This is a novel bound in the hidden magic of the everyday.

Book Description:

Willa Drake can count on one hand the defining moments of her life: when she was eleven and her mother disappeared, being proposed to at twenty-one, the accident that would make her a widow at forty-one. At each of these moments, Willa ended up on a path laid out for her by others.

So when she receives a phone call telling her that her son’s ex-girlfriend has been shot and needs her help, she drops everything and flies across the country. The spur-of-the moment decision to look after this woman – and her nine-year-old daughter, and her dog – will lead Willa into uncharted territory. Surrounded by new and surprising neighbours, she is plunged into the rituals that make a community, and takes pleasure in the most unexpected things.

A bittersweet novel of hope and regret, fulfilment and renewal, Clock Dance brings us the everyday life of a woman who decides it’s never too late to change direction, and choose your own path.

'She is and always will be my favourite author' Liane Moriarty

See More Fiction Staff Picks

New Australian Writing

The Golden Man Booker Prize Winner

 
9781408891346
20%
OFF
RRP  $17.99
$14.30

The English Patient

 

The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje has won the Golden Man Booker Prize. The winner of this special one-off prize was chosen by the public. All 51 previous winners were considered by a panel of five specially appointed judges, each of whom was asked to read the winning novels from one decade of the prize’s history, before the books faced a month-long public vote on the Man Booker website.

‘The English Patient is that rare novel which gets under your skin and insists you return to it time and again, always yielding a new surprise or delight. It’s intricately (and rewardingly) structured, beautifully written, with great humanity written into every page. Ondaatje’s imagination acknowledges no borders as it moves between Cairo, Italy, India, England, Canada – and between deserts and villas and bomb craters. And through all this, he makes you fall in love with his characters, live their joys and their sorrows. Few novels really deserve the praise: transformative. This one does.’ – Kamila Shamsie, Man Booker Judge and author of Home Fire

The Golden Man Booker shortlist

Hardcover Gift Editions